Rising PH? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2016, 12:10 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Rising PH?

I flooded my tank yesterday, added Prime, Excel and Dr. Tim Ammonium Chloride and Salty Shrimp GH+.

I tested my parameters today and my PH seems to be off the API charts, almost a dark blue 7.6+ reading. GH tested at 6* and KH at 8*.

My Tap water tests in at 6.8-7.0.

The tank substrate is Eco Complete and Carrib Sea Super Natural Sunset Gold. I have 3 pieces of Manzanita Driftwood and assorted pieces of Lava Rock.

It's pretty heavily planted with Java Ferns, Anubias, Bacoa Monnieri, Star Grass, Pennywort and Ludiwigia.

My water does go through a water softener, there is no way around this as the main water line into the house flows through the softener.

As this is my first time diving into this Aquatic Hobby I have no idea what could be causing the PH to raise, do any of you guys have any incite as what may be going on? Could it be the addition of Dr. Tim's Ammonium Chloride?

I currently have a bucket of water from the tap that I am going to let sit for 24 hours then test it's Ph. At the moment I am mixing another 5 gallon bucket of tap water with Prime, Excel, Dr. Tim's, and Salty Shrimp GH+. I plan on testing the PH an hour after all the chemicals settle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160217_165846.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	127.2 KB
ID:	593577  

First time PT

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-19-2016, 12:27 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyUser View Post
I flooded my tank yesterday, added Prime, Excel and Dr. Tim Ammonium Chloride and Salty Shrimp GH+.