Plants melting in my new tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-15-2020, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 29
Plants melting in my new tank

Hi all, I've had this tank set up for around 2 weeks, and I've been steadily losing stem plants.
Tank size: 5 gallon
Substrate: Tropica aquarium soil "powder"
Light: 13 watt CFL 6500K
Filtration: none currently
Temperature: 78
pH: 6.8-7.0
Ammonia: 0
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 0
Ferts: 0.5 mL Flourish Comprehensive once a week
Photoperiod: 11 hours, recently reduced to 9 hours due to algae
Livestock: none

So first I had half of my Hygrophila Siamensis stems melt, and now about half of my Ludwigia Repens stems, and the rest aren't looking good either. There's been a bacteria bloom since I set up the tank, which is possibly blocking some of the light. My rooted plants, Sagittaria Subulata and Cryptocoryne Wendtii, haven't yet been affected by melt as far as I can tell. Any advice, or issues with my setup that you can see? I know some melt can be expected at the beginning of a new tank, but I haven't seen any growth happening either, with is concerning.
max_clare is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-17-2020, 12:18 AM
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 92
Two things I see....nitrates should not be zero.....and Flourish comprehensive is not comprehensive, its mostly micros.

Doug
doug105! is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-17-2020, 02:08 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug105! View Post
Two things I see....nitrates should not be zero.....and Flourish comprehensive is not comprehensive, its mostly micros.

Doug
Should I be dosing nitrates? They're currently zero because I don't have any livestock yet. I suppose I could throw some fish food in there to rot and release ammonia - I haven't been doing that because I had previously assumed my Tropica substrate would release enough ammonia to cycle the tank. But so far, it doesn't look like it will
max_clare is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-17-2020, 05:15 PM
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 92
All plants whether aquatic or terrestrial need these things......water, light, CO2, macros (N,P,K), Ca, Mg and all the micros.

Doug
doug105! is offline  
Reply

Tags
None

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome