how to start 3 gallon bowl - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Econde
  • 1 Post By pauld738

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2020, 11:03 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
how to start 3 gallon bowl

Hello , I am a saltwater reef guy that has become interested/obsessed with starting a 3 gallon “nature style “ betta bowl . I have been watching “MD fish” on You Tube and want to copy his setup. Should I use RODI water? Do I need a heater ? Do I just add substrate and plants right from the start? how long before fish is added ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-2020, 11:14 PM Thread Starter

also do you guys buy plants online or at local fish stores? I want some dwarf hair grass , monte carlo , java fern and lemnophilia are these pretty common ? I want to give my business to my local store if possible. Sorry for so many questions. straight newbie here
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-15-2020, 01:15 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Give this site a chance. I've learned quite a bit from him.

https://www.2hraquarist.com/pages/planted-tank-101
chicken.nublet likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

7.5 Cube - shrimp tank

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-16-2020, 03:10 AM
Algae Grower

Definitely not goldfish! Goldfish get huge and need 30+ gallons. Honestly, putting any fish in a container under 5 gallons is pushing it, so I'd look for a 4-5 gallon bowl if you can find one. Otherwise, make sure to stay on top of water changes.