advice for school tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By ladykemma2

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 03:09 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
advice for school tank

Hi All,
I want to setup a low maintenance planted tank for my son's CAtholic grammar school. I was hoping to get your advice. I have run a cichlid tank and saltwater tank for a few years. I have some experience but not much with planted tanks as my cichlids would eat them. The challenge is that I cannot maintain the tank more than once a week. Also, the tank will be set up a hallway. There isn't much natural light, but fluorescent lights are on from 7 am to 7 pm every day. Also, it is in a high traffic area (hallway where kids will pass it every 45 minutes 8 hours a day).

This is my gear:[LIST][*]55 gallon tank
[*]heater
[*]powerhead (200gph)
[*]fluval canister filter (probably use ceramic media)
[*]HOB 75 gallon Aqueon filter (filter floss and carbon)
[*]peice of drift wood
[*]bubbler
[*] Led lighting fisture for one half of the tank
[*] T5 bulb and hood for the 2nd half of the tank
[*] fertilizer root tabs (introduce when i put plants into the sand)

I have 50 lbs of pool sand (I will probably need 50 lbs more)

The goal is to set up a planted tank that will look nice and survive in this environment. I can do a water change once a week, but daily dosing with fertilizer is not possible.

The tank will also have a pirate ship and some other fun things for the kids to see. i will also set up an automatic feeder once I have fish (tetras).

I plan on using Anubia, amazon swords, and Java fern.

I plan to cycle the tank first and then introduce plants and fish.

I really prefer not to use soil since I cannot afford aquatic soil to fill the tank and I am not confident enough to try cheaper soil.