Saying hi as I start my first tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-29-2020, 02:16 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Saying hi as I start my first tank

Heya! I'm brand new to this hobby. Been reading posts for a few days now and wanted to make a formal introduction *hand waaaave*

At the beginning of Covid-19 quarantining I was gifted what I believe is a cheapo 2.5 gallon tank, and really it's not so nice. Got big ugly silicone seams and a thick black rim, but even so I'm excited to dive in and learn as I go and try to make something beautiful out of this thing. Low tech methods excite me the most. However having no aquarium experience of any kind, I know I have a lot to figure out. Beware - I'll probably be asking a lot of questions along the way.

The tank has been up for three days now, I did a dirt base with a gravel cap. I'm now realizing that it's highly likely the bagged garden soil compost blend I sieved had some problems (too high nutrient packed, small bits of perlite made it through the sieve, and then I left too much air trapped in the dirt before I capped it). The only thing in the tank apart from the substrate is lobelia cardinalis, and I definitely won't be adding any critters until I know it won't be a death sentence. I haven't done any water changes yet, been reading competing theories on what equals best practice and I'm not sure how to proceed. Cycling is the next big question I need to research furiously, heh.

Are the consequences of what I've done with the substrate such that I should start over? I've accepting the learning process (well, my overly-eager version) will be messy but it's sure to be fun :>
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-30-2020, 09:00 AM
Algae Grower