suggestions: types of fish for 4.5gal walstad tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By minorhero
  • 1 Post By minorhero

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 12:03 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question suggestions: types of fish for 4.5gal walstad tank

I am a beginner when it comes to planted tanks, so I was wondering what types of fish people would recommend for my 4.5 gallon Walstad method tank. Currently the only livestock in the tank are a few small stowaway snails(no idea what type) that came with the hornwort I bought. I'm planning to buy a few shrimp to stock the tank and haven't decided whether I should purchase a few more snails. If anyone has suggestions for what species of fish I should keep once the tank is finished cycling that would be much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 01:55 AM

The size is pretty limiting, though you do have a few options. You could do Endlers, which are similar to guppies but a little smaller (and prettier imo). I hear that Bettas can do well in a 5 gallon, but you would have to look into that more. Some sources say that you can house 1 or maybe 2 clown killifish in something that small, but there are conflicting opinions. You might want to look into small killifish, as they seem like they would do well in a walstad tank. Maybe some of the nano tetras or rasboras. Maybe dwarf cory cats, but I don't know much about corys.

On many smaller aquarium store websites, you can find a section called "nano fish". This could be a great resource, but just make sure that the fish will thrive in a 4.5g. You can also search thus sort of thing up on youtube.

Hope this helps.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 02:40 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

I second the endlers.

A Betta could do fine in a tank like that but it will probably eat at least some of your shrimp throwing off your balance.