Please help plant a 10 gallon Betta Tank - new addict. - The Planted Tank Forum
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-01-2019, 12:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Please help plant a 10 gallon Betta Tank - new addict.

Hi All -

Apologies for the long post and Thanks for your help - I'm new to this addiction!

I'm trying to give a good home to a Betta but I'm confused about planted tanks.

I thought I had it figured out by reading the Walstad book (twice) but I don't think going that route is a good idea right now because it seems like getting the substrate right isn't easy.

Since it's a Betta tank (starting from scratch) I'm trying to find plants that will grow up to the top with nice leaves but everything I'm finding looks like it needs Co2 injection and I'm hoping to keep it simple but nice. I know I could just get an Amazon Sword and a bunch of Crypts but I'm hoping there's something else.

This tank is on a Penninsula island and will be visible from everywhere. Hopefully I can attach pics.

I'm waiting on the water chemistry numbers but the PH is 7.5 and I think the water is in the hard side it's NYC water. Yes the LFS should have that info but they don't....

I've done a ton of reading - I think that's the problem. I'm feeling overwhelmed.

I don't have a light yet because that depends on the plants.

I was hoping for a "Natural Aquarium" but I'll be happy just to get something planted not too high maintenance for now, but I can see where this addiction is headed.

I don't know which source to buy the plants from.

I was hoping for some fast growers but I'm told everything needs CO2? Hygrophilia Corymbosa?
> Shinnersia Riv? > Rotala rotundifolia?
>Limmophilia sessilflora? (Ambulia?)

Any and all ideas much appreciated! 😃