First scape - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By somewhatshocked
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-03-2019, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 19
First scape

Today I finally started on my first planted aquascape and I'm not generally worried about the haze as I used pool filter sand and expected it to be hazy. However I'm worried that the fish I have in there (rosy red minnows) are up at the surface and that it is because I might have high ammonia level. Haven't tested for it yet but wanted yalls input before I start spending to test and get rid of it thanks in advance.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tcrawl97 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 12:55 AM
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (486/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Middle America
Posts: 13,326
Is this a tank you cycled before adding livestock?

If your tank isn't cycled, you'll want to remove the fish immediately and find a home for them until your tank is ready.

No matter what, you'll also want to pick up a liquid test kit so you can get a bit more accurate readings than you can with test strips.
Thelongsnail likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

somewhatshocked is online now  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 03:20 AM
Planted Member
 
minorhero's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 181
+1

from reading your post it sounds like you didn't cycle this tank. If not your fish will die if measures are not taken immediately.
minorhero is online now  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 03:38 AM
Planted Tank Guru
 
Maryland Guppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arnold
Posts: 3,157
Test strip seems to show high pH so NH3 would be toxic to phish.
I've never even seen a test strip before.

Getting rid of ammonia is a process in which the end result is nitrate.
Cycling your tank and developing the correct bacteria to complete the nitrogen cycle is critical.

The only way not cycling a tank works is if the plant mass is extreme, you have very few plants to consume the ammonia.

I would suggest searching this forum for "Cycling a Tank"
Several members over the years have provided great info on this topic.

Hope this provides some help.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Growing is not that difficult.
Maryland Guppy is online now  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 10:00 PM
Algae Grower
 
Ryan.Waite's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Baxter, Tennessee
Posts: 32
Which brand of pool filter sand did you use? I really like the color.

.
Ryan.Waite is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan.Waite View Post
Which brand of pool filter sand did you use? I really like the color.
Quikrete pool filter sand. You can get it at home depot for just under 10 bucks I believe.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tcrawl97 is online now  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 11:09 PM
Algae Grower
 
Ryan.Waite's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Baxter, Tennessee
Posts: 32
Thank you!

.
Ryan.Waite is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 12:35 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: 67212
Posts: 438
near zero water movement from what I can see also. you need a nice moving ripple across top of water so ammonia is expelled and oxygen absorbed into water. water changes are needed daily and you should have started with 2 fish max.

You have to have a ammonia test kit when starting up a aquarium and test daily for at least first 3wks.
DaveKS is offline  
Reply

Tags
None

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome