New planted 48g tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 3Likes
  • 3 Post By OVT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 07:16 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New planted 48g tank

5 days ago I set up a fresh water planted tank with the intent of transfering fish from an already established tank.

I'm relatively new to aquariums but in the last year or so I've been taking care of a 165L tank which wasn't being well maintained by a family member. The tank has been running for years, with good levels of everything and fish seem very healthy, just look like they need some more room.

I purchased a 182L (48g) aquaone horizon starter kit tank with a 36W LED light, hang on filter with a flow of 600L/ hour and a 200w glass heater.

The set up is
Soil - osmocote organic garden soil + (highest point is roughly 2.5" lowest point roughly 1.5") capped with Substrate - Aqua iron ( black sand) by Oliver Knott ( highest points 1.5" and lowest 1")
- Rocks & driftwood taken from the existing tank.

When I filled the tank with water I tried to use as much of the established tanks water as possible (thinking it was ideal). I filled it with about 40% and the rest with tap water (which is used in the established tanks water changes). The next day I did a 50% water change to clear some of the murkiness of the water and again added another 40% of the established tanks water and then probably another 20L of tap water.

At that time (few hours after the water change) on day 2 the readings were

pH 7
Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 40ppm
(Apart from the ammonia these read exactly like the existing tank)

On the 3rd 4th and current day (5th) the readings have been

pH 7.6
Ammonia 8.0 ppm
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate 40 ppm