New to plants and need a lot of help - The Planted Tank Forum
 29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 82 (permalink) Old 12-05-2018, 02:15 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to plants and need a lot of help

Good Morning Planted Tank!

I'm brand new here and brand new to keeping aquarium plants. I have been keeping fish for a few years so I am not brand new in that aspect. I have done a ton of reading but please be kind if I am a bit lacking in aquarium plant experience.

Not sure where to start.
Tank in need of help;
55 gallon
2 Aquaclear 110's with pre-filters
1 Beamsworks 120 6500k
Substrate is a combination of blue gravel from wallmart and about 40 lbs of eco-complete. (I am swapping it out slowly to all eco-complete in hopes to make my plants happier...waste of time or good move?)
I use prime as my dechlorinator
I use Seachem Flourish @ 5ml once or twice a week...usually once. I just recently tried a second dose midweek.
I use Seachem Excel @ 5ml a day and 5ml per 10 gal with water changes. (I very recently started using fertilizer and excel the day after a water change. Thought it may be ineffective having ferts and a dechlorinator together?)

Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 30ish
Tested with API Freshwater kit

I do weekly gravel siphoning and water changes. I change 20 gallons a week with prime. Then I dose flourish and excel the next day.