UNS Titan 1 PAR Data - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 05:59 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
UNS Titan 1 PAR Data

Hello, I just wanted to share some data I collected in the event that it might be helpful to someone.

I am a beginner aquascaper with a 90 gallon planted tank (image in Attachment 1) with dimensions of L48"xW18"xH26". I have two Ultum Nature Systems UNS Titan 1 lights (same/similar to ADA Solar RGB light?) mounted from my ceiling. I was experiencing pretty bad algae issues with my lights 12" over the tank (despite ~30ppm CO2 and daily ferts), and thought excess light might be the cause. I found a PAR table for the light from Glass Aqua (Attachment 2), but it couldn't tell me what my PAR would be at the bottom of such a deep tank, so I decided to rent an Apogee MQ-510 PAR meter.

Below is some of the rough data I collected. Attachment 3 has this in a graph. In a nutshell, this is a very bright light!

The "just under waterline" values were generated by taking PAR readings just below the surface all over the tank and averaging the values. The "22in below waterline" values are averages of measurements taken at the substrate--the amount of light the micro sword carpet is receiving.

You may notice a discrepancy between my numbers and the numbers from UNS. My theory is that UNS was measuring without submersing the probe underwater. The numbers I got when I placed the probe just above the water track with their numbers.

Hanging Height: 18"
PAR just under waterline: ~170
PAR 22in below waterline: ~90

Hanging Height: 20"
PAR just under waterline: ~150
PAR 22in below waterline: ~85

Hanging Height: 24"
PAR just under waterline: ~120
PAR 22in below waterline: ~70

Hanging Height: 27"
PAR just under waterline: ~110
PAR 22in below waterline: ~60

Hanging Height: 29"
PAR just under waterline: ~95
PAR 22in below waterline: ~55

Hanging Height: 31"
PAR just under waterline: ~90