Led lighting suggestion for 24" deep tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Led lighting suggestion for 24" deep tank

I'm looking to possibly move away from my t5HO unit with an LED fixture. I want to light my 90 gallon 48 x 18 x 24. I'm a bit of a noob with LEDs I've tried some in the past but with mixed results. I've found myself always going back to my T5HO fixture for one reason or another

Here is what I've tried and my impressions of them

- finnex ray 2 - super bright but I found the color too harsh and no features

- finnex planted 24-7 some nice features but light intensity was not very stong

- Ecoxotic e90 great features but light spread not RGB's not very present fixture got really hot.

What I'm really looking for is a light that doesn't get very hot, has a decent spread. It's going to sit on the tank and I use lids. Also a ramp up feature would be nice. I also want a good color rendition.

Needs to be able to adequately light medium demanding plants 24" deep. Spending under $400 is ideal. I'll spend more if I have too.

Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 05:51 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Led

If you must have lights that sit on the tank, two Fluval Plant Spectrum 3.0 would be a good choice. Very nice spectrum control with your smart phone.

If it was my tank, I would suspend two Waveform PhotonPanel 4000k grow lights with dimmers over it. I have one on a 36" wide tank 18" deep with the dimmer output at about 75%. Astonishingly powerful in a pleasing spectrum. Waveform also makes LED bulbs in T5 and T8 shapes 48" long.

https://store.waveformlighting.com/p...ow-light-panel
Blue Ridge Reef likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.