How should I setup my lightning? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 02:13 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question How should I setup my lightning?

Hey! So I'm new to Aquascaping and I've just started my first tank. I've done a lot of research but I'm still unsure how to set up the lights in my tank. I'm currently running a Juwel HeliaLux Led-ramp 28 watts together with two T5's but I'm unsure if this is too much lightning and that it would cause an algae outbreak? (33,5 lumens/liter)

I run the Ledbar 8 hours a day on full luminosity and the T5's 4 hours a day. So 4 hours of 3500 lumen and 4 hours of 6700 lumen.
To make the matter more complicated I also have a Juwel Day/Night control timer which I use to dim my Led-Bar. So the total running time for my Ledbar is more like 12 hours a day but it gradually dims the light from 0 luminosity to maximum under 2 hours each morning and evening creating a Dawn/Dusk effect.

How should I set up the lightning to thrive plant growth while also keep algae under control (hours)? Keep in mind I'd also like to have that Dawn/Dusk effect with the timer so I can see the tank "wake up" and " go to sleep" each day.

Specs:
Juwel Lido 200l (Roughly 52 gallons)
Juwel internal filter
Lights:
Juwel HeliaLux Led 28 watts 3500 lumens
2x Juwel T5 (approx 1600 lumens each)
Plants:
Monte Carlo
Staurogyne repens
Riccia fluitans
Alternanthera reineckii Rosanervig
Anubias
Java fern
Substrate:
Ecs Clay-substrate
JBL root fertilizer
Tropica Aqua Soil
Fertilizer:
Liquid Co2 Happy Carbo, planning on replacing it with pressurized.
Weekly PMDD, Micro and Macronutrients.

Thank you all in advance, would greatly appreciate anyone's help.
/Q
I hope I made everything clear, otherwise just ask
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LRM_EXPORT_89985468370673_20190505_215242003.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	433.0 KB
ID:	881625  

Click image for larger version