90g - 2 AI prime fresh or 3? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-25-2018, 10:59 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
90g - 2 AI prime fresh or 3?

Hi all,

I'm new to the game, and I would like to have some grass and other plants in this tank. My tank size is 90 and it has a sump.

I have 3 bleeding hearts, and 4 gouramis.

I have Amazon swords, bacopa, Ludwig,weisteria, java moss, and some red plant.

I would like to put my smaller tetras and Amano, and Cherry shrimp in this tank. (Had them in their before, and they keep getting sucked in sump.)

Can you please recommend some lights for me?

should I buy 2 AI primes fresh or 3?

Should I buy 1 hydra 52 instead?

Im very impatient, so if I spend more money on equipment that will grow fast, I'm ok with it.

I have a reasonable fund, less than 1k canadian. I currently don't have a co2 kit. Open for cheap suggestions with that too.

Thanks guys

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-25-2018, 11:21 PM
Captain

PTrader: (1/100%)
Just looking at the pic above, it looks like a rimless tank. If so, that gives you a few more options as you dont have thick plastic braces in inconvenient places. Not knowing the exact tank dimensions, I would assume it is around 4' long. this would mean it is more than 18" front to back and maybe a little taller than 21" (I have a 75g tank). With that said, I would lean toward 3 of the AI Prime lights.
I have 2 Radion XR15FW lights on my 75g tank and there is a bit of a dark spot at the top middle of the tank. With 3 lights, it would look more evenly lit in my opinion.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-25-2018, 11:31 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote: