The Planted Tank Forum banner

Discussions Showcase Albums Media Media Comments Tags Marketplace

1-20 of 41 Results
  1. Algae
    I am a newbie. This is regarding my very first planted tank - or the very first tank for that matter. I have this aquarium which is on a dry start for about 5 weeks now. I have a Monte Carlo carpet, nile sand, some driftwoods and a seiryu rock. I have a light going on for 12 hours each day. and...
  2. Plants
    Hi all, First post here so sorry if I'm missing crucial details. Thinking about doing a dry start with dwarf hairgrass in my 28 gallon tank. I'm planning on using 1" of organic potting soil under 1" of Quikrete play sand as the substrate. Just wanted to know if The sand I'm using is too fine...
  3. Low Tech Forum
    This is my first time working with monte carlo and pretty scared of how it will go. I am trying to grow monte carlo and hair grass with the dry start method with the Walstad approach. Substrate : potting mix + 1 cup red soil + 2 cup compost + black sand capping plants: dwarf hair grass TC and...
  4. Fertilizers and Water Parameters
    I just flooded my 5 gallon dry start, but im wondering how much co2 i should start putting into it, i havent added fish or anything yet as i want to get a good start on the plants before getting started on everything my monte carlo has quite a bit of melt going right now, Is there such a thing...
  5. General Planted Tank Discussion
    Hi Guys, I just started my tank yesterday using the dry start method and i just have some few questions. 1. Is it okay if im using an airline tubing with an aerator to put air inside the tank? 2. Do i have to leave an opening in the lid? 3. Can i use dsm in sand substrate as well? 4. Is there...
  6. Plants