Autodosing ferts in return line feed from filter??
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2009, 08:26 PM   #1
twotone7777
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greenville,MI
Posts: 10
Question

Autodosing ferts in return line feed from filter??


I currently use the water pump method of autodosing my ferts(wasserpests). Timer kicks on the pump, pump pushes ferts from a container up, drops it into the tank.

What I want to know is if I can just put it in line with my filters return hose. I just redid my plumbing using 3/4" PVC instead of the normal flex hose. So, I thought, why could I not just do the same thing that I do with my CO2 reactor(rex style). Just insert the hose/fitting into a section of the PVC return, with a check valve. Timer kicks on the pump, ferts pushed into the return feed.

Anyone have this going? Will it work? Thought it may be easier/more streamlined.

Thanks for the responses.
twotone7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2009, 08:38 PM   #2
GTR
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,086
Default

Depends on the pump and if it can handle the pressure.
GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:23 PM   #3
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (168/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,047
Default

A regular little water pump will not create enough pressure to open a checkvalve and work against the pressure of a canister filter.

Might work with a peristaltic pump, if that's what you are using to dose.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 09:32 PM   #4
twotone7777
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greenville,MI
Posts: 10
Default

Nope, currently I am using a pond pump from lowes, as I had to defeat about a 6 ft head so I needed something with a bit of force. But it sounds like it would not have enough to get past the canister pressure. So, sounds like it would not work. Bummer. Just trying to hide some more stuff and also make it a bit more contained.

Thanks for the feedback.
twotone7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012