If i do rescape do i have to do water change
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Aquascaping


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2009, 07:29 PM   #1
steve_dowg2001
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 89
Default

If i do rescape do i have to do water change


i set up my 75 gallon tank oct 25 and added 3 fish a few days later. The tank has only been set up for 2 weeks. I just got some manzanita and did a rescape. should i do a water change or am i ok?
steve_dowg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2009, 07:35 PM   #2
Church
Planted Tank Guru
 
Church's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,370
Default

Did you kick up a lot of substrate during the rescape? I can't imagine there would have been enough time for enough mulm or detritus to collect, but if so, did you notice a lot of it getting kicked up into the water column? Did you layer your substrate with peat, or something else that might cause problems if it comes into contact with the water column?

Those are the only questions I can think of to answer your question. Chances are if the above answers are no, then doing a water change might be counter-productive while the tank is still cycling.
Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:42 PM   #3
steve_dowg2001
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 89
Default

i kicked up some dust from the flourite but not any more from when i first filled the tank. no peat moss soo hopefully ill be good to go =) im real happy about the scape and need to get some dawf swag now =)
steve_dowg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:53 PM   #4
Church
Planted Tank Guru
 
Church's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,370
Default

Yeah you should be fine. If you have activated carbon in your filter, the fluorite dust should be gone in a few hours.
Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 03:08 AM   #5
funkyfish
Wannabe Guru
 
funkyfish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 1,494
Send a message via MSN to funkyfish
Default

I do rescapes during WC easier that way for me. But you should be fine without one, but a tiny water change will not harm anything ether
__________________
My 55g project
"There is a fine line between Hobby and Mental illness."
funkyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012