Adding substrate to established tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2004, 11:08 AM   #1
kaslkaos
Algae Grower
 
kaslkaos's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stouffville Ontario Canada
Posts: 21
Question

Adding substrate to established tank


I have a 20gal tank with less than 1" of gravel bottom. I'm sure it's no surprise that plants are not rooting well. The tank has been working for a long time, and I'd rather not start over (but I'm thinking about it).
Soooo... can I just buy a bag of flourite, and add to the tank? Will the plants grow up through it, if I just gently add layers, weekly, perhaps?
I want to get the substrate up to 2" or more.
The gravel in the tank now is the regular non-coloured (but possibly coated)pet store kind. The tanks been running 2 + yrs.
Thanks, Ingrid
__________________
29 gal, 60 watts, platys, zebras
http://www.kaslkaos.blogspot.com
kaslkaos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2004, 11:29 AM   #2
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yes you can as long as you don't mind getting them mixed up overtime. If you decide to go with Flourite, make sure you rinse it well
__________________
Eheim Pimp #21 (2) 2028 and auto feeder
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2004, 01:36 PM   #3
macbrush
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to macbrush
Default

If its a 20 gal with just 14 fish, I would use a bucket to hold all the water and fish, run the filter in the bucket, and take my time to redo the substrate. Its just easier that way.
__________________
Eheim pimp club #48
Specs:
800L 100% Flourite
80L plant/shrimps nursery tank inconnected with the main tank
Total 600W HQI, 2 X 5200K 2 X 6500K
Eheim 2028 X 2 2080 X 1
Dupla Substrate Heater
Dupla S external reactor
Aquamedic 2hp & Teco R15 400W chillers
Sega pH Controller

Light period: 6 hours on each bulb across 12 hours
Water Parameters: pH 6.4, KH 2, GH 1, NO3 40, PO4 1 TDS 250
macbrush is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2004, 02:53 PM   #4
aquatic-store.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
aquatic-store.com's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 598
Default

Flourite will work fine but may cloud your water.
A better bet would be eco complete and mix it with your current gravel or do all eco complete.
It is black though
__________________
Marcus S Russo
JBJ powerheads buy 2 GET 1 FREE
LIVE PLANTS
Co2 supplies Largest on the net.
Dupla substrate heaters
http://www.water-testers.com.com
<p>Enter the 2005 Photo contest and win lighting, co2 supplies and more. </p>


http://www.aquatic-store.com/index2.html
aquatic-store.com is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2004, 10:58 PM   #5
kaslkaos
Algae Grower
 
kaslkaos's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stouffville Ontario Canada
Posts: 21
Default

Okay, so there are two choices, then.
If I add flourite, how much can I add at a time without stressing the plants too much? 1/4" per week? maybe? I like the flourite for the red colour; I've used it and it does cloud the water (even rinsed well), it's a pain. Eco Complete is black, right? I'm looking for something that looks natural to me, so the closer to sand colour, the more I like it.
Choice two: put fish in a bucket.
My concern with this is 'will the tank have to cycle all over again'?
For either choice, I'd be using the current gravel, plus the flourite (or whatever else I might decide on). Would I rinse the current gravel clean, or would I leave it somewhat dirty with the mulm that has collected deep down?
PS. I updated my sig to current situation. The rosy barbs started snacking on my plants, so they went to the flea market to find new homes (happy ending)
Thanks for all your care, Ingrid
__________________
29 gal, 60 watts, platys, zebras
http://www.kaslkaos.blogspot.com
kaslkaos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding substrate to the established tank valiko Substrate 4 05-08-2011 01:50 AM
Need help planning a 2.5g planted tank Mothi Planted Nano Tanks 3 09-03-2004 07:32 AM
Converting fish tank to plant tank, without moving fish... Mori General Planted Tank Discussion 18 06-10-2004 02:50 PM
putting substrait in an established tank? Jason Substrate 3 09-26-2002 01:49 AM
Blue-Green (slimy)algae Amazon Robert General Planted Tank Discussion 11 08-23-2002 10:21 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012