ADA Aquasoil Preparation
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate

Old 10-07-2009, 08:43 PM   #1
itzjustjeff
Planted Member

PTrader: (14/100%)

ADA Aquasoil Preparation

I've never used ADA aquasoil before. I've been working with eco-complete for both of my tanks for the last year..but i want to start a 3rd tank and would like to use ADA aquasoil as the substrate. I was wondering if there is any special preparation required before initiating any planting or addition of fauna? I'm planning to use the water from my 2 older tanks, along with a 2nd filter i took of the tank so that i can use it on the new one right away. So..just a couple of things i'd like to know:

How long does aquasoil have to be soaked? to get rid of tannins and to make it safe for fish.
What are some additives that people usually put onto aquasoil?
What are different size pebbles of the aquasoil for?

Thanks in advanced for looking. Excited to get my tank going asap!

Old 10-07-2009, 09:03 PM   #2
speedie408
ShrimpKeeprExtraordinaire

PTrader: (391/100%)

From my recent experience, AS takes over a month to get rid of all 'noticable' tannins. Tannin is not deadly to fish as far as I know. I've had my tank running for a little over a month now and even after adding purigen, my water is still not crystal clear. I still see a minuscule tinge of yellow in it. I'm not sure if this will stay with the tank or not, maybe someone else can answer this for us.