Aquariumplants.com Substrate and BGA?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2009, 06:43 PM   #1
Shavemacman
Planted Member
 
Shavemacman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 192
Default

Aquariumplants.com Substrate and BGA?


I have the substrate from aquariumplants.com in two of my tanks. In these two tanks I have had crazy BGA problems for over a year. I have tried everything and no matter what I do, it comes back. I have two other tanks without this substrate and I do not have the BGA problems in these tanks.
Has anyone else noticed a link to BGA and this substrate? Any ideas on if/why there might be a link between the two?
I am getting tempted to do a complete breakdown and starting with new substrate.
__________________
50 gallon planted aquarium journal
http://perryswall.blogspot.com/
Shavemacman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-01-2009, 09:15 PM   #2
bradac56
Wannabe Guru
 
bradac56's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 1,093
Send a message via AIM to bradac56 Send a message via MSN to bradac56 Send a message via Yahoo to bradac56 Send a message via Skype™ to bradac56
Default

No there stuff is just a repackaged SMS product so I wouldn't blame it on first blush. More than likely something is out of balance with those tanks (over feeding, higher lighting, more/less ferts, etc).
__________________
Proud member of the Heart of America Aquarium Society and the International Betta Congress

VICTOR PIMP #58 -
VTS-253A-320 x2, VTS-253D-320, VTS-253A-1993-320.
bradac56 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2009, 09:33 PM   #3
hbosman
Wannabe Guru
 
hbosman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leesburg Virginia
Posts: 1,598
Default

I've read that BGA is connected with insufficient nitrogen.
hbosman is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012