HELP! Snail attack!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish

Old 07-31-2004, 03:05 PM   #1
VaporFlowers
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

HELP! Snail attack!

I noticed a snail in my tank yesterday. I didn't panic immediately because it had a tightly curled shell, and I only saw one. I'm used to "invader snails" having pointed shells.

Anyway, I went into Petsmart trying to read up on them but couldn't find any information. When I went home, I studied the one snail more carefully. That's when I noticed a 2nd and I panicked, soon noticing tiny snails everywhere. I'm assuming I didn't check one of my new plants carefully enough for hitchhikers. The snails are round and kind of clear with spots.

Regardless of the species, I'm concerned about getting rid of them. Clown Loaches will grow far too large for my tank, and I feel guilty about introducing something I can't keep for its lifespan. Had-a-Snail and other chemicals... well, they're still chemicals. Makes me uncomfortable.

I have a 30 long tank with Emperor Tetras, Neons, Congos, a Rainbow Shark, a Rubber-lipped plec, and an oto. Are there any fish compatible that stay small enough for a tank this size? Or any other suggestions on how to get rid of them?

I have pictures but they're rather blurry, I might try to clean them up and post them later.
VaporFlowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2004, 03:55 PM   #2
shrimpology
Algae Grower

Seems like you have a Ramshorn Snail problem. You should start picking them up wherever you see them. They cannot breed yet, since they are too small, so you still have time to collect them out of your tank as they growing.
shrimpology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2004, 06:37 PM   #3
Blade
Algae Grower