how to read CO2 regulator dials?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 09-03-2009, 12:41 PM   #1
Planteater
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

how to read CO2 regulator dials?

Hi,

I am new to canned CO2 and just got set up. I dont know how to use the dials on the regulator. One reads 40, the other reads 80. I have a crank between the two but when i turn it, it does not affect the readings on the dials. the needle valve works to regulate the bubble rate fine.

this is i think an "ultimate" system from gla

thanks for any advice!

Planteater
Planteater is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2009, 01:19 PM   #2
Darkblade48

PTrader: (3/100%)

Are you talking about pressurized CO2? Canned CO2 gives me a different impression of the setup you have.

As for the dials, the dial on the right is the high pressure gauge. This indicates the amount of gas that is left in your CO2 tank. The dial on the left hand side is the low pressure gauge and shows you how much CO2 is being delivered to your solenoid (and needle valve). This value is known as the delivery pressure or the working pressure.

I assume the units of your readings are PSI and not kPa, as 40 kPa would be too low for a delivery pressure.

This would mean that your delivery pressure is 40 PSI (a little on the high side, we usually adjust to 20-30 PSI), while the amount of gas remaining in your CO2 tank is only 80 PSI. Brand new CO2 tanks are usually filled to 800 PSI (regardless of the weight of the tank). If your tank was just hooked up, and your high pressure gauge is reading 80 PSI, then that means you have a leak somewhere.

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks