Filtration for Bottom Drilled Tank??
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2009, 08:57 PM   #1
Cocobid
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Cocobid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 545
Default

Filtration for Bottom Drilled Tank??


Here is what I have 60G cube located in one of the Greenhouses. This is not meant to be a true planted tank, more of an overflow for some critter & plants. Looks to be 1-1/2-2" hole.

The cube is bottom drilled, does not have a overflow box, just hole. The hole is off center toward one of the corners. How can I plumb this as cost effectively as possible. This is not a show tank!!!! Have all sorts of Eheims floating around. Or could construct a sump.
A major concern of mine is lack of suction should power fail.
I'm open to any and all suggestions.
Set up a little 10G down there as a test and it is doing great. Even with our temp swings the water temp is doing fine.
I really need some help with this one!!!!
Thank You Karen
__________________
Karen / Cocobid
http://cocobid.blogspot.com/ ~~~ http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v468/Cocobid/
55 & 60 Cube, Eheim 2028's~~30 Cube--RAOK~~ 4 & 5 & 20 Planted Eheim 2026, 14T ECCO
Beyond that...just gave up counting vessels
2232~~Eheim Pimp Club#261
Cocobid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2009, 09:03 PM   #2
GTR
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,086
Default

You could use the hole for either the intake or the return. Friend of mine had a cube tank with an overflow and he just reversed the flow and used the overflow hole and box for the return powered by a canister. Did nothing for good flow in the tank but served it's purpose.

Any either of these situations priming should be an issue.

SteveU
GTR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2009, 09:16 PM   #3
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (75/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,974
Default

I would put a standpipe in the hole so the top is at about the halfway hight of the tank. Then use that as the inlet to a canister filter. This would make it very easy to do 50% water changes, using a couple of cheap ball valves, one to direct the filter outlet to a drain, and one to allow tap water into the filter outlet line. Priming the filter would be extremely easy, since no siphon starting is needed. At worst the water line in the filter circuit would be at the tank water line, so the filter just has to push a little air over the top of the tank to get started.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2009, 11:13 PM   #4
Cocobid
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Cocobid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 545
Default

Hoppy I found this. Ok so out of the bottom bulkhead and then to a splitter??? One for the filter the other to remove aquarium water. This is sounding good!!!!
I really appreciate your impute. Don't be bashfully just tell me what I need and I'll do it.LOL
So the intake would be the strainer part of the standpipe, and we could have a spray bar or Lilly type output.
http://shop.dursostandpipes.com/inde...&products_id=8

That aquarium water is going to make for some happy plants.
Karen
__________________
Karen / Cocobid
http://cocobid.blogspot.com/ ~~~ http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v468/Cocobid/
55 & 60 Cube, Eheim 2028's~~30 Cube--RAOK~~ 4 & 5 & 20 Planted Eheim 2026, 14T ECCO
Beyond that...just gave up counting vessels
2232~~Eheim Pimp Club#261
Cocobid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2009, 11:47 PM   #5
Cocobid
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Cocobid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (15/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 545
Default

Look at this it is a DIY version, on this model it calls for a small hole be drilled on the top cap. Run with me, the hole for a short mid-tank standpipe would not need a hole???Yes/No.

http://www.midwestcustomaquariums.co...standpipe.html Yes/No.
__________________
Karen / Cocobid
http://cocobid.blogspot.com/ ~~~ http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v468/Cocobid/
55 & 60 Cube, Eheim 2028's~~30 Cube--RAOK~~ 4 & 5 & 20 Planted Eheim 2026, 14T ECCO
Beyond that...just gave up counting vessels
2232~~Eheim Pimp Club#261
Cocobid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012