Difference Reactor?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2004, 04:17 PM   #1
pufferfreak
Wannabe Guru
 
pufferfreak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via MSN to pufferfreak Send a message via Yahoo to pufferfreak
Default

Difference Reactor?


I was wondering if you could take a coke bottle (the 12 or 24oz.) and cut a the bottom and top compeletly out, and have the inside filled with sponges. If you had CO2 bubbleing under it, do you think it would break up the CO2 well? Thanx
pufferfreak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2004, 08:45 PM   #2
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (176/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,138
Default

Without an active way of diffusing it, it would just sit there and very slowly dissolve into the water. You wouldn't even need the sponges... just a bottle that captured the bubbles would be enough, but not very efficient in adding any sizable amounts of CO2. Better to use a reactor or your filter.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2004, 04:06 AM   #3
pufferfreak
Wannabe Guru
 
pufferfreak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via MSN to pufferfreak Send a message via Yahoo to pufferfreak
Default

I have an XP3 but i'm afraid of the CO2 getting traped. I always have air traped in the filter.
pufferfreak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2004, 04:17 AM   #4
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

Same here, I'm running a cannister and I'm sure that it'll just air-lock, which is what it does often anyways :P
I plan to make an in-line reactor soon though. I just need to figure out my plan, and find the parts.

--cich
__________________
Plants are gone, but my 33gal and I are back after a long hiatus.
cich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2004, 04:41 AM   #5
osCon
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Posts: 15
Default

My inline reactor (see here) was really very easy to make.

I got all my parts from Home Depot, and with help from one of the workers I was out in no time. Just make sure you don't tell them what you are trying to make. You will spend more time trying to describe it than looking for the parts. I made that mistake when I was looking for stuff for my spray bar
osCon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2004, 04:44 AM   #6
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

LOL I know what you mean. Thanks for the link.

--cich
__________________
Plants are gone, but my 33gal and I are back after a long hiatus.
cich is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2004, 04:39 PM   #7
pufferfreak
Wannabe Guru
 
pufferfreak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via MSN to pufferfreak Send a message via Yahoo to pufferfreak
Default

I know this may be a easy question, but with your plans of your reactor you gave us, how do you plum it with a canister filter?
pufferfreak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2004, 08:01 PM   #8
Poohbee
Planted Member
 
Poohbee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 277
Send a message via AIM to Poohbee Send a message via MSN to Poohbee
Default

the Exhaust hose goes from the canister to the TOP of the reactor and you should have another hose that comes down from the reactor to the fish tank. The co2 hosing usually is on the side.
Poohbee is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2004, 03:21 AM   #9
pufferfreak
Wannabe Guru
 
pufferfreak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via MSN to pufferfreak Send a message via Yahoo to pufferfreak
Default

Yea I got it now. I just got to cut my XP3 outlet hose in two, make the thing and hook it up. Also what do you use for the inside, any special type of bio balls?
pufferfreak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2004, 08:04 AM   #10
Poohbee
Planted Member
 
Poohbee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 277
Send a message via AIM to Poohbee Send a message via MSN to Poohbee
Default

Instead of cutting the hose I went to Ace hardware and bought a small 2 foot piece of 5/8" ID hose and used that to attach it to my reactor. As for the inside of the reactor you could put most anything in it. I've heard of people putting in lava rocks, regular bio-balls, and these long plastic stringy fluff stuff.
__________________
Eheim Hater Member # 39
72 Gallon All Glass Aquarium and Stand with Glass top, Eheim 2126 Pro II Thermo Canister Filter, Pressurized Co2, 260watt Coralife Lunar Lights, 100% Eco-Complete
10 Gallon Breeder tank with a Marineland 170 power filter with sponge filter attached and Marineland 100(?) heater
6 Gallon Marineland Eclipse 6, Semi heavily planted community tank
Poohbee is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2004, 05:17 PM   #11
pufferfreak
Wannabe Guru
 
pufferfreak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via MSN to pufferfreak Send a message via Yahoo to pufferfreak
Default

lol the wierd thing is, I just filled my 12 gallon too hold some snails while I redo my 55, and I have lava rock in there. Its VERY porous! My outtake hose for my XP3 is REALLY long. Cutting it should not be to much of a problem. If I get out of the CO2 stuff, maybe I could just keep the reactor on there and not use it. Also is there any place the reactor should go? Like nailing it to the wooden stand?
pufferfreak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2004, 09:13 PM   #12
jart
Wannabe Guru
 
jart's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 1,372
Default

"Also what do you use for the inside, any special type of bio balls?"

rex had a bad experience a while back with dish scrubber thingys.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1924

i am going to use 6 bioballs in mine, as per jason, in his thread "wellbiz reactor".
as for how to attach the reactor, poohbee started a thread a little while back. check it out for some info.
jart is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2004, 09:18 PM   #13
pufferfreak
Wannabe Guru
 
pufferfreak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via MSN to pufferfreak Send a message via Yahoo to pufferfreak
Default

coolness thanx for the tips!
pufferfreak is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish Caught in Aqua Medic Reactor YankeeFanInPA Equipment 9 09-26-2004 04:58 PM
Plant guild Power Reactor lokobreed Equipment 1 05-28-2004 10:57 PM
Another CO2 reactor question.... gmaniac Equipment 1 03-29-2004 01:52 AM
Difference between AM and AB reactor 1000s? SNPiccolo5 Equipment 7 11-14-2003 09:32 PM
Reactor Choices STAT 007 Equipment 47 04-05-2003 04:59 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012