Glass lined masonary tank.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY

Old 07-31-2009, 06:58 AM   #1
essabee
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)

Glass lined masonary tank.

I have constructed another 1000 litres hole in the wall tank using bricks and mortar for the rear and both sides, the front is to be all glass and the bottom is a concrete slab. The tank is built outward from the wall of my den and the glass front, where the wall used to be, would be the viewing side from my den.

Now I have built tanks like this before and have had no problems (except rectifiable minor ones) with them. What I intend to do next with this tank; is something I have never done before - line the 3 masonry sides with glass.

I intend to use 5mm thick dark tinted glass, 27 inch high (water level to be 24") and paste them to the three sides with silicone. I would like all your advice to avoid any future problems - with the construction and the longevity of the tank.
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2009, 07:17 AM   #2
CL
C-A-T-S

PTrader: (79/100%)

How long are the panes going to be? Are you basically using the glass as tiles, or do you want to use them as viewing windows?
Old 07-31-2009, 11:10 AM   #3
essabee
Planted Tank Obsessed

The den-side is viewing but the other 3 will basically be one huge tile each.
Old 07-31-2009, 03:18 PM   #4
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (74/100%)