Should i add a layer of ADA amazonia powder to lower ph
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2009, 07:24 AM   #1
zeldar
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zeldar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 658
Default

Should i add a layer of ADA amazonia powder to lower ph


I have a 5gallon hex tank that is planted with Wisteria, HC, and soon to be pellia and riccia. I use eco complete for substrate, trouble is i have hight ph here in houston. My tanks ph is like 7.6 right now and i have diy co2.

Would adding a top layer (like 1/2") of aquasoil powder do anything to lower the ph. Would it be enough to bring it down to 6.5 or 7? I am wanting to get some CRS or CBS and know they need a lower ph to do alright.
zeldar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2009, 01:37 AM   #2
zeldar
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zeldar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 658
Default

anybody?
zeldar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 03:36 PM   #3
Overfloater
Wannabe Guru
 
Overfloater's Avatar
 
PTrader: (73/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,895
Default

Short answer, no. It will not effect pH much.
__________________
Overfloater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ada, aquasoil, crs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012