fertilizer confusion
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 07-19-2004, 04:14 AM   #1
Mike Lazuka
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

fertilizer confusion

Hello,
I am new to planted tanks, I just got everything planted. I have java fern, anubias, anacharis, crypts, and sagittaria. Im running 2.1 WPG of PC lighting. I was about to purchase a bottle of fertilizer (Flourish), but when I went to seachem's website I saw about four other parameter specific fertilizers, I think it was potassium, nitrogen, phosphorus and iron. I had no idea what this was all about so I came here and read some posts about fertilizing. Now I am really lost. I thought fertilizing was something as simple as having a bottle and just adding some every week or so. I guess its not. Can somebody please explain an easier way to fertilize my tank? My tank is heavily planted, but most are slow growing plants. Im not looking for extremely fast growth, just something to help use my nitrates since the tank has a heavy fish load. Since I cant use co2 since it lowers my ph, (I cant have this since they are african cichlids) I was thinking of trying the flourish excel, any thoughts on this? Im just really lost when it comes to this whole fertilizing business, can anybody help, Id really appreciate it, Thanks
Mike Lazuka is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-19-2004, 04:52 AM   #2
Wasserpest
Are these real?

PTrader: (163/100%)

Here is a starter: http://www.plantedtank.net/fertilizers.html but it's really for a high maintenance tank.

If you don't add CO2, you might get away with just the bottle of Flourish you mentioned. That's what I would do... keep observing your plants.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message