Please HELP, tank Emergency!! My tank is a hotzone
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish

Old 07-11-2009, 11:50 PM   #1
Iloveangelfish432
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Please HELP, tank Emergency!! My tank is a hotzone

All the inhabitants in my tank are about to die. This is not a new tank syndrome, I've been keeping fish for 3 years. I've never had any disease outbreaks, or even algae. This part of fishkeeping is all new to me.
The fish are all hanging near the surface of the water and moving their gills rapidly. A Bolivian ram is breathing heavily, but he is not at the surface of the water. Yesterday I did a a test: Ammmonia and nitrite are zero. I decided to change 40 percent water and added Prime. Then I added a powerhead for oxygen. An amano shrimp died last night.
10 Minutes ago today another amano shrimp died.
Inhabitants: 1 bolivian ram, 5 show guppies, amano shrimps, guppy frys, 30 gallon planted tank.
Temp: 82 degrees F
Iloveangelfish432 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2009, 12:03 AM   #2
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (68/100%)

82 degrees should not 'cook' anybody all my tanks end up around 80-84F during the summer. Are you getting good bubbling out of the power head?
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 12:50 AM   #3
Iloveangelfish432
Algae Grower

I've just added more aeration, and the fish seem to be happier. The ram is definitely showing signs of improvement, as he is now flapping his gills slower. The guppies are breathing in the same way, but at least they are not hanging around the surface of the water anymore. I can only hope it's as easy as this...