What is the Best Substrate?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2009, 04:02 AM   #1
Vladdy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Vladdy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 386
Question

What is the Best Substrate?


What is the best substrate for a planted tank that won't alter the water parameters or cause an ammonia spike? I am planning to add eco-complete to my 10 gallon aquarium, which is already established. Will adding the new substrate cause an ammonia, nitrate or nitrite spike? And will it cause a pH swing? Will I have to cycle the tank again, even if I keep the same water in the tank as I had before changing the substrate? I need some advice on this. Thanks.
__________________

Last edited by Vladdy; 07-07-2009 at 06:20 AM..
Vladdy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2009, 02:50 PM   #2
Postal Penguin
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: CO
Posts: 414
Default

Eco is inert and didn't mess with my pH at all. Some people have reported differently saying that it raised the pH but I did not experience any of that.

And as long as you have a decent filter changing out the substrate should not cause any spikes except for a nitrate spike if the old substrate is particularly dirty. But the water changes and plants will fix that anyways.
Postal Penguin is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2009, 02:54 PM   #3
SPECIAL||PLANS
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 169
Default

i have 2 bags of eco-complete in my 10 gallon. have had algae and ph problems but i'm assuming its my local well water causing this. from what i gather the biological filtering of your substrate is minimal. there is a post somewhere in this forum where a guy named Snapple changes his substrate to eco-complete while his fish are still in the tank. i couldn't find it with the search. i remember Snapple has a tire with blinging rim on it in his profile pic. anyway, Snapple loved the eco-complete until he upgraded to ada aqua soil and then he said he'd only use ada soil from then on. i think he grew out some hairgrass and then quit his tank. some people may remember Snapple giant ball of japonica.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...aquascape.html

somewhere in here, boss is looming around my desk, need to get back to work :/
SPECIAL||PLANS is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2009, 07:04 PM   #4
Hilde
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hilde's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 4,583
Default

I am in the midst of experimenting with substrate. If I had the money I would buy Red Sea Flora Base. It is sold at Dr Foster & Smith ,

Since I don't have the money I am making my substrate
Bottom
Scotts potting soil
Middle
Scotts
Top soil------------------- 8 cups
Organic Charcoal crushed---2 cups
Dolomite--------------------------- 1 cup
Calcium sulfate------------------ 3 Tbs

Sodium bicarb------------------- 3 Tbs
Top
River sand

To enhance the mineral content I will be letting the river sand soak for a week. Also in a separate bucket will soak the middle substrate for a week. This is my version of mineralised soil.
Hilde is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2009, 07:38 PM   #5
Vladdy
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Vladdy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 386
Default

I bought a 20 pound bag of eco-complete today.
__________________
Vladdy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2009, 10:17 PM   #6
Gatekeeper
Planted Tank VIP
 
Gatekeeper's Avatar
 
PTrader: (96/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 6,625
Default

No such thing as the best substrate. This topic is getting silly and quite frankly, its cluttering the forums at this point.

CLOSED
__________________
Gatekeeper is offline   Quick reply to this message
Closed Thread

Tags
ammonia, cycling, spike, substrate, water parameters

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012