Hints for a tank open to both sides?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Aquascaping

Old 05-17-2009, 06:28 AM   #1
wookie
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Hints for a tank open to both sides?

Hi everyone,

I'm a bit stuck on aquascaping my first planted tank. the problem is it will be open to both sides

Name:  P1040339.JPG
Views: 269
Size:  58.9 KB

I could paint one side black, but would like to leave it as is.

It is a standard 3 foot tank and I'm using mineralized soil with a couple of inches of 2mm black sand over top. It has a compact T5 with a 96W, 10,000K bulb and I will look to setup a DIY CO2 eventually.

Any suggestions would be great, I was thinking about either large plants on the left going down to low plants on the right, or having large plants either end and a bit of a gap in the middle??

I am new to planted tanks so it would be great to get any suggestions about 'scaping ideas and plants/gear.

I will probably order plants online from the site below, to give you an idea of the plants I'm looking at.

http://www.aquaria.com.au/catalog/index.php/cPath/6_43

Thanks in advance for any help
wookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2009, 06:36 AM   #2
CL
C-A-T-S

PTrader: (79/100%)

How wide is the tank? You could make the scape like a peninsula, but it depends on how wide it is.
Old 05-17-2009, 06:38 AM   #3
blair
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (5/100%)

I would recommend iwagumi style for a double sided view. If you went stems or other large plants, try to make them centrally planted around a hardscape. This would be more easily done in a wider tank, but yours seems to be 24" or 30" long by 12" wide? Possible, but tricky