In-line CO2 reactor
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2004, 12:06 PM   #1
bellisb925
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Belmont, CA USA
Posts: 175
Default

In-line CO2 reactor


I think I have got a hold on how to assemble an inline reactor, but still have a couple of questions.

1. Which hose do you install it on(inlet or outlet).

2. Where the CO2 enters the reactor. At the top of the unit or bottom

3. I am in golf course maintenance and have a lot of irrigation pipe glue. Is that safe to use.

4. How will running this inline reactor affect my cannister filter.

If anybody has any answers thanks. Pictures are great too..

I will be running this with a magnum 350 cannister filter
bellisb925 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2004, 04:08 PM   #2
TeeItUp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
TeeItUp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Vernon, Ohio
Posts: 493
Default

I run my External reactor on the outlet of my Eheim 2215 with no problems. The CO2 enters just below the top. If you are referring to PVC cement with irrigation pipe glue you should have not problem. I gave mine 24 hours to dry and I also soaked it in the tub for another 4 hours. I made mine just like Rexís (pic below) Mine is the bottom pic.





__________________
Eheim Pimp Club member #14
2215 Classic
Eheim CO2 Diffuser
TeeItUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 11:32 PM   #3
Georgiadawgger
Planted Tank Guru
 
Georgiadawgger's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, VA (Near the Pentagon)
Posts: 2,416
Default

These in-line reactors work great.

1. Which hose do you install it on(inlet or outlet). Outlet (do a search and you'll find the consensus is for the outlet so you don't damage the motor). Water goes into the top and out of the bottom back into the aquarium. Tee it up's picture with the 90 degree hose barb is the best way to avoid nasty kinks in the return tube.

2. Where the CO2 enters the reactor. At the top of the unit or bottom (top as Tee it up mentions)

3. I am in golf course maintenance and have a lot of irrigation pipe glue. Is that safe to use. (if you can drink the water from these pipes, fish can too...for the most part...I just used pvc cement from lowes)

4. How will running this inline reactor affect my cannister filter. should have no effect. If you hook it up to the ouflow you get fresh clean water going through the reactor. I also have my UV sterilizer before my CO2.

Total cost should be about 20 bucks or less. I used an old gravel tube as my center tube (to see through it) and it was a bit smaller than the 1.5 pvc couplers. With the couplers and clean out plug unit my reactor is a bit over 20 inches.
__________________
40g AGA Breeder: Pimp# 44: Eheim 2026; Anti- Filstar; CLTT UV; 3 wpg PC, pressurized CO2. GATA! FTD!!!
Georgiadawgger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 06:14 PM   #4
bharada
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,605
Default

bellisb925,
With a Magnum 350 it's just as easy to feed the CO2 directly into the filter's intake. Since it has a bottom mounted impeller there's no chance of air-locking the filter, and the CO2 has a lot of time to dissolve as it passes through the media basket or micron cartridge.

Just drill a small hole (smaller that the outside diameter of the airline used to feed the CO2) into the intake strainer then pull the airline through the hole. On mine I actually used a plastic hose barb (the kind used for the Lee disposable air diffusers) to connect the CO2 line into the strainer. Either way works.
__________________
óBill
| My site
bharada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 03:52 PM   #5
pufferfreak
Wannabe Guru
 
pufferfreak's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via MSN to pufferfreak Send a message via Yahoo to pufferfreak
Default

one question, how do you hook up the outlet tube of the reactor to the outet tube of the canister. Or do you have the outlet tube of the canister run to the reactor then have the outlet water come out of the reactor and go to the tank. Intsead of the canisters outlet tube runing strait to the tank, it goes through a reactor first then to the tank. i see lol
pufferfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
co2 reactor working properly? mids1999 Equipment 27 02-13-2005 06:04 AM
Fish Caught in Aqua Medic Reactor YankeeFanInPA Equipment 9 09-26-2004 03:58 PM
Another CO2 reactor question.... gmaniac Equipment 1 03-29-2004 12:52 AM
Difference between AM and AB reactor 1000s? SNPiccolo5 Equipment 7 11-14-2003 08:32 PM
Reactor Choices STAT 007 Equipment 47 04-05-2003 03:59 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012