HELP! My fish tank has weird algae and dust
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2009, 07:53 AM   #1
Ingiequeen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5
Default

HELP! My fish tank has weird algae and dust


HI y'all, i am really worried about my 4ft discus tank, i have no co2, and it is planted, although the plants dont do well at all, i use flroutish and flourish excel, and just ordinary dark gravel for my substrate, no heating cables or anything, but ever since about a month after i set it up it alwayshas weird dust and algae growing all over it, and it just started growing weird dark green tufts of algae, nitrites 0, nitrates never above 10, ph 6.5, gh 5, kh 2, and thats about it, i dont know what to do about it someone PLEASE HELP i ant my tank looking lush and green like so many other tanks.
Ingiequeen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2009, 09:10 AM   #2
NeonFlux
Wannabe Guru
 
NeonFlux's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,183
Default

How long do you leave the lights on? How often do you clean your filter? Need to know
NeonFlux is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2009, 10:43 AM   #3
Ingiequeen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5
Default

HI, i leave them on for about 12 hours a day, i clean the external canister once a month.
Ingiequeen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2009, 11:47 AM   #4
Veloth
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Veloth's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pelion, SC
Posts: 338
Default

Your lighting period may be too long depending on the amount of light you're running. Is the tank a new setup if so the brown may diatoms.
Veloth is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2009, 01:39 PM   #5
Ingiequeen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5
Default

No it is not diatoms, i know what that is, it is not mainly on the glass it is all over the plants, its like brown gloppy dust, and there are little brown hairy things on the back glass of the tank, all the plants look sick except the anubias and a couple of crypts.
Ingiequeen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2009, 01:56 PM   #6
dewalltheway
Wannabe Guru
 
dewalltheway's Avatar
 
PTrader: (134/99%)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,984
Default

Any pics? Also, is your tank 55 gallons and give some details on your lights.
__________________
Current Tank Journals: 125 Dream~~~~
Retired Tank Journals: Tranquility ~~~~ Les Collines Rouges ~~~~ Restful Hideaway Riparium~~~~Gone Live-55Gal
dewalltheway is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2009, 02:07 PM   #7
Ingiequeen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5
Default

I should upload some pics soon, it's a 110 gal, i know i do not ave enough lighting, i only have a hagen glo twin HO t5 light, with 2 x 54 watt globes.
Ingiequeen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2009, 03:43 PM   #8
Esox lucius
Planted Member
 
Esox lucius's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glendale Heights, IL
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingiequeen View Post
No it is not diatoms, i know what that is, it is not mainly on the glass it is all over the plants, its like brown gloppy dust, and there are little brown hairy things on the back glass of the tank, all the plants look sick except the anubias and a couple of crypts.
If it is brown, and not dead green algae, it is diatoms, and there are many different species, some form hair like colonies, some are dust like. From what I have researched they are caused by excess silicates in mature tanks. I have some issues with diatoms, and they seem to come and go, I will be doing all future water changes with RO water, hopefully that will alleviate the issue if there is silicates in my tap.
__________________
10 gallon shrimp RCS
20 gal Ram Breeding Tank
30 gal XH- Flooded Rainforest
75 gallon Sunken Wood River
"If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" Isaac Newton
"Nature holds the key to our aesthetic, intellectual, cognitive and even spiritual satisfaction." E. O. Wilson
Esox lucius is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2009, 03:46 PM   #9
Tex Gal
Wannabe Guru
 
Tex Gal's Avatar
 
PTrader: (78/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Joshua, TX
Posts: 1,734
Send a message via Yahoo to Tex Gal
Default

Flourish is micros and excel is the carbon source. Where are your macro ferts? Do you use plant tabs? You need some source for your macros. If your plants can grow enough they will out compete the algae and it will go away. Flourish does make separate bottles of potassium (K), nitrogen (N) and phosporus (P) that you can use, as well.
__________________
Just keeping on keeping on....

95g Rimless

Tex Gal is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2009, 04:45 PM   #10
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,354
Default

You are not low on light. Instead, you most likely are not providing the nutrients the plants need to grow, which are nitrogen (from nitrates), potassium, phosphorus (from phosphates), carbon (from CO2, preferably, or Excel), and trace elements from a trace element mix. Read up on the Estimative Index method of dosing, for a simple, easy to follow method for dosing all but the carbon.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2009, 11:16 AM   #11
Ingiequeen
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5
Default

Hey all, umm ok, i now have that green slightly black algae that looks like grass...what is this caused by? and i dont really use flourish or excel anymore, also, everyweek i usually do a water change of 10%, but the 10%just evaporates do i just replace the evaporated water with fresh water, is this bad? should i go back to CHANGING the water? Also the plants dont really grow at all, and the algae is quite bad. I will have some photos up soon but my stupid sim card reader isnt working at the moment.
Also my gravel is not exceptionally small, it is normal size/small, i dont have any heating cables, no fertilazer and no root tabs.
Ingiequeen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2009, 12:52 AM   #12
el_santo
Algae Grower
 
el_santo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 40
Default

you should be doing water changes, evaporation isn't exporting out waste and by just toping off you're not removing waste that is still accumulating in the water column.
__________________
el santo
20g algae machine
el_santo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2009, 02:49 AM   #13
sunfire99
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
sunfire99's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Castle, IN
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingiequeen View Post
Hey all, umm ok, i now have that green slightly black algae that looks like grass...what is this caused by? and i dont really use flourish or excel anymore, also, everyweek i usually do a water change of 10%, but the 10%just evaporates do i just replace the evaporated water with fresh water, is this bad? should i go back to CHANGING the water? Also the plants dont really grow at all, and the algae is quite bad. I will have some photos up soon but my stupid sim card reader isnt working at the moment.
Also my gravel is not exceptionally small, it is normal size/small, i dont have any heating cables, no fertilazer and no root tabs.
Pictures would help but it sounds like you may have several types of algae. All of them have a "cure", and all of them have a cause also. The black algae may be BBA, black brush algae. Do a search on that and look at the pictures to see if it matches up. Excel or H202(hydrogen peroxide) will kill BBA handily. You might also mention what kind of cleaning crews you have. Do you have any shrimp, catfish, snails, etc.? How long has the tank been set up?
__________________
Steve
_______________________________________________
Sunfire's Tank journal:
Victor Pimp #34
sunfire99 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
algae, discus, dust, problem, tank

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012