Another Rookie With A Question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting

Old 06-21-2004, 06:23 PM   #1
MuddyChevyGrl

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via AIM to MuddyChevyGrl
Question

Another Rookie With A Question

Hi I've been searching the plantedtank forum for a few weeks now, trying to get all the info I need since I'm new to planted tanks.. I have a 55gal with a few live plants in it, Amazon swords etc.. I just purchased 2 coralife 15watt bulbs for my tank and I'm afraid it may not be enough light, but I'm not sure since my tank is not heavily planted. I know heavily planted tanks need 2-3 watt per gal, (or is it all tanks with plants)? Also if I need more light then I proably need more CO2 which can be easily taken care of since I've been reading much about it on the forum.

If I need more light is their an easy, cheap way to do it without changeing my brand new coralife bulbs? Or do I need to just suck it up and buy some bigger watt bulbs?? Any and all help will be greatly appreciated!!
MuddyChevyGrl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-21-2004, 10:19 PM   #2
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid

PTrader: (52/100%)

Welcome to the board MCG!

Seems like you already have a grasp on what to do!

What type of fixture are you putting those bulbs into? Flourescent bulbs aren't like incandescent bulbs. You can't increase wattage on a flourescent fixture by swapping out bulbs.

Mike
Old 06-21-2004, 10:19 PM   #3
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP

It sounds like you ahve one of those 55 gallon tanks with two short strip lights on them. You can't simply replace teh bulbs with higher watt ones as you suggested.. You actually will have to replace the hood/canopy or retrofit the existing setup with some Compact Flourescent bulbs.