potassium dificiency? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2003, 04:41 PM   #16
Vinlo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vinlo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Default

Actually.. I wouldn't mind knowing how much work it would be to replace the substrate. I have a 30 gallon (36x12x18h), there are 3 UGF plates in there. Would I do one at a time or the whole shooting match? Also will this kill my fish/give me lots of algae or ammonia or something? THe only ones I really care about are my angels. Maybe I'll start reading more about substrates.. any suggestions? 50/50 Flourite and gravel? Sorry to ask so many questions.
Vinlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2003, 05:39 PM   #17
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Since the tank is only 3 months old, I would get rid of the UGF. I thought it was an established tank with lots of plants. Take them all out at once. Are your nitrites at 0 now? They should be. Do you have any other filter on the tank now that has an established bacterial colony? You dont want to make that swap without another established filter in place because you will be removing your only nitrifying colony and without backup you will get a ammonia and nitrite spike.

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 09:19 PM   #18
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

A good way to do it is get a new filter, set it up, and let it run for a week or so so it has bacteria, then just remove the UG's.

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 10:08 PM   #19
Vinlo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Vinlo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719
Default

I have an Aquaclear 300. Just the sponge media in it. SHould I throw the carbon in there for a week then swap out the substrate? I only have a few val, wisteria, 2 crypts, 2 swords, java moss, pygmy chain sword (not gorwing, not dying) and a stem plant I can't remember the name to. Everthing is growing, save for the chain sword. I'll gather some funds and buy the goods. Any cheap places to get flourite around Detroit/Windsor/Online? Oh yeah.. Nitrates 0-5ppm, PO4 0-.1ppm (closer to 0 I think), Kh 5, PH 7, haven't measured the Gh in a while. DIY CO2. [I just realized you can edit your message after it's been posted] So the 50/50.. is that mixed together or is it Flourite layer then sand layer? Also.. how much sand/flourite? I have 3 square feet. So around 15 pounds of each? Maybe I'll grab my old AC 150 and set that up temporarily too. Also, will the cloudy water (from flourite) effect my plants/fish at all? Maybe some filter floss will quicken the clearing up process.
Vinlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2003, 03:17 AM   #20
fishpoop
Planted Member
 
fishpoop's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: kitchener On. Can
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to fishpoop
Default

you need filter floss because the aqulear foam will not get all the flourite dust, my tank was dusty for weeks befor i got finer foam and stuffed it into the aqualear.
fishpoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you know you should add Iron and Potassium? oazanki Fertilizers and Water Parameters 5 02-10-2004 03:02 PM
Potassium Test Kit yvonnedono Fertilizers and Water Parameters 2 12-24-2003 11:38 AM
Dissolving Potassium Sulfate in DIY mix..?? Carpet-Pond Fertilizers and Water Parameters 14 11-17-2003 05:52 PM
Potassium question. dlwarnock General Planted Tank Discussion 19 05-13-2003 01:40 AM
Potassium test kits? Rickster General Planted Tank Discussion 12 03-26-2003 01:26 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012