Aquasoil clouding water
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate

Old 03-05-2009, 06:33 PM   #1
BlackRapids

PTrader: (0/0%)
Unhappy

Aquasoil clouding water

Hey I'm new to the hobby and I recently just replaced my old gravel for some aquasoil amazonia that I bought online. I added the soil and a large piece of petrified wood yesterday and this morning it was totally clouded up, when it was mostly clear yesterday.

It's been about 8 hours since I first noticed the extremely clouding, and no change. I could just do mad water changes, but i'm afriad of losing some of the nutrients and stuff from the soil.

The tank is a 5.5 gallon planted nano tank, with a ghost shrimp, 6 neon tetras, and an oto. Only about 3 plants right now. Using a red sea nano filter, C02 tablets, ferts, and a small 25w heater.

So all this considered, what should I do? Wait it out? Change the water? Thanks in advance

~Ben
BlackRapids is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-05-2009, 07:24 PM   #2
cah925
Fear the Swamp!

PTrader: (173/100%)

This is just a dust cloud, no nutrients will be lost. It happens sometimes. I had the problem with loaches constantly digging around in the soil, but your problem may come from the filter stirring things up. I would be carful changing too much water too often. Try putting some fine filter media in your filter and let the filter do the work.
cah925 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:39 PM   #3
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackRapids View Post
Hey I'm new to the hobby and I recently just replaced my old gravel for some aquasoil amazonia that I bought online. I added the soil and a large piece of petrified wood yesterday and this morning it was totally clouded up, when it was mostly clear yesterday.