pH is doing weird things
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2014, 11:03 PM   #1
chillourami
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: California
Posts: 2
Default

pH is doing weird things


Hey fish dudes
I got a 4 month old 10g tank that's been fully cycled and everything the fish i got in it are
8 tetras
1gourami
5 crs

My water parameters are
Ammonia: 0-0.25 ppm
Nitrate: 0-5 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
pH: 8.2
So the pH is more on the high end, which is weird because my tap water pH is about 7.2. Im concerned because I'm eventually going to take out the fish and try and breed my crs. I heard they like the water more basic rather than acidic

I always trim dead plant bits and have a fat piece of driftwood in there too. I cant solve this pH mystery. Can some fish bros help me out
chillourami is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2014, 12:05 AM   #2
Dragonxflare
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 163
Default

Do you have any rock / stones in the tank? That would raise your PH as well.
__________________
Check out my 30 gallon shrimp tank Tree journal
Dragonxflare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 12:16 AM   #3
chillourami
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: California
Posts: 2
Default

I have some sandstone rocks
chillourami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 04:26 AM   #4
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,211
Default

When you tested your tap water, did you leave some out overnight or longer, and test it after it was exposed to the air for 24-48 hours? Some tap water will change pH overnight.

Take samples of everything you have in the tank and put it into separate jars of water.
Test the water when you start, and every few days for a week or more. Have one jar with nothing, just water.
So you will have a jar with some substrate, a jar with a bit of rock, a jar with a bit of driftwood...
If you are adding anything to the water (minerals, pH regulating materials) do separate jars with each of these. Try to figure out the right dose (or run these tests in a larger bucket so you can get something close to the right dose).
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 04:55 AM   #5
jmsaltfish797
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: monmouth, oregon
Posts: 343
Default

what kind of substrate are you using? certain kinds (ie: argonite sand) will buffer your ph up into the 8 range.
__________________
jmsaltfish797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 04:58 AM   #6
Aquadawg
Algae Killer
 
Aquadawg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 413
Default

Chili,

Sandstone is more of a slate and usually lowers the pH, not raise it. What is your substrate? Fill your test tube with tank water... cap it don't use your finger, shake, empty and retest. I bet it was contaminated result. Again, don't use your finger as a cap. Especially after you've grubbed dude
__________________
The fastest way to success is patience.

Best,

Joe
Aquadawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012