yeast problem?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2004, 08:55 AM   #1
edo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alhambra, CA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to edo
Default

yeast problem?


my diy co2 yeast recipe was doing fine. i started it on the 11th. but then it stopped producing today, the 15th. i dunno what the problem is. mmy bro said he was squeezing the bottle alot. was that probably it? if not, what could the problem be. i just started a new batch of yeast solution crap...
edo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2004, 09:02 AM   #2
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

What recipe are you using? How much sugar, yeast, etc... It will probably depend on that.
For example, more yeast means greater output, but less "lifespan." But less yeast means a longer lasting batch, but lower rate.

--cich
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 01:44 PM   #3
anonapersona
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,614
Default test for leaks

I'd submerge the generator in a bucket of water to test for leaks before I did anything else. I've used Liquid Nails on the outside of the cap and sealed an active leak at the airline inlet.
__________________
Member AGA, HAS, NASH
110G, 10 adult discus, barebottom with plants on wood
58G, 3 adult discus, barebottom with plants on wood
59G thickly planted tanks, rummey nose tetras, kuhlies
300G goldfish pond outside
anonapersona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 07:43 PM   #4
edo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alhambra, CA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to edo
Default

the recipe im using is:
1/4 tsp yeast
1/4 tsp baking soda
2 cups sugar
6 cups warm water

i sealed the top of every bottle with epoxy when i started, but ill check again i guess.
edo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 08:07 PM   #5
edo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alhambra, CA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to edo
Default

how do u guys mix it? i usually put all that stuff in the 2 liter bottle and shake the hell out of it...
also, the new batch that i made is pretty weak too.
edo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 08:48 PM   #6
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

I'd say look for leaks - that recipe seems fine. Also, I just put it all in, in any order, and shake.

--cich
__________________
Plants are gone, but my 33gal and I are back after a long hiatus.
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 10:15 PM   #7
edo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alhambra, CA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to edo
Default

just wondering, does shaking make you lose co2 at all? and how much should i shake it. sounds like a stupid question, but i jsut shake until all that crap at the bottom (sugar and yeast) are mixed into the water.
edo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 10:21 PM   #8
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

Well, if it's a new batch you're mixing, no CO2 loss will occur, since there is none yet.

--cich
__________________
Plants are gone, but my 33gal and I are back after a long hiatus.
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 05:49 AM   #9
edo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alhambra, CA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to edo
Default

ok. i checked for leaks. there was one. i sealed it up and it works fine now.
edo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 06:15 AM   #10
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

Great to hear!

--cich
__________________
Plants are gone, but my 33gal and I are back after a long hiatus.
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 03:03 AM   #11
xt87
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cich
What recipe are you using? How much sugar, yeast, etc... It will probably depend on that.
For example, more yeast means greater output, but less "lifespan." But less yeast means a longer lasting batch, but lower rate.

--cich
Thanks for that info... I had the same concern... I put in 1 tsp of yeast and 2 1/2 cups of sugar.... and I got like 1/4 the sugar left. Instead of adding 1 tsp of yeast.... how much should I add?
__________________
_______________________________________________
30 Gal. Community
Flora: Hornwort, Java Fern, Frill
Fauna: Neon Tetras, Black Tetras, Harlequin Rasboras, Guppy
xt87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 04:48 PM   #12
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

if it's a 2 liter bottle, 2 cups of sugar is too much. i wouldn't go over 1.5 cups in a 2litre bottle, and 1/4teaspoon of healthy yeast is all that's needed.
It's partially about initial yeast used like cich said, but also about total sugar used. When yeast converts sugar to CO2, alcohol is also produced. Too much sugar means too much alcohol, and too much alcohol means dead yeast before all the sugar gets used.

I use a 1 gallon jug, which is like 3.8 liters i think. I use 2 cups sugar, and 1/4tsp yeast. This lasts from 4-6weeks, depending on the temp in the room.
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 05:18 PM   #13
edo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alhambra, CA
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to edo
Default

my co2 has been running flawlessly for about a month. i think it can go for maybe1.5-2 months because the baking soda stabilizes and helps alot. i think the next batch ill try cutting down on sugar and ill post what happens.
edo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 07:04 PM   #14
Urkevitz
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,891
Default

I use 2 cups of sugar and have gotten a month out of my Co2 also.
Urkevitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I buy the yeast at ACME??? joon DIY 4 08-06-2004 02:11 AM
Champagne yeast zapus DIY 0 06-13-2004 06:30 PM
DIY Co2 mixing problem plantastic28 General Planted Tank Discussion 11 12-31-2003 02:10 PM
New to planted tanks: UPDATE! Bert General Planted Tank Discussion 58 09-23-2003 01:23 PM
Gelatine CO2 recipe and recent tests anonapersona DIY 11 08-08-2003 10:36 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012