Raising CO2 levels?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2003, 05:29 AM   #1
Grendel
Planted Member
 
Grendel's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 183
Default

Question: How can I raise the level of CO2 in my tank?

*10G, moderately/densely planted (since beginning of January).
*GH 6, KH 4, pH 7.5, CO2 only 4 mg/l.

DIY yeast system, renewed every 8-10 days. Plants seem to be doing OK, including lilaeopsis, which is just now starting to put up a new little shoot each day. A. roseafolia and compacta sword are also doing great. Very little pearling, except beneath h. leucocephala leaves.

Since my CO2 levels are so low, I got to thinking about how nice this little tank would look with higher levels. Any way for me to up this? I assume increasing the KH would increase the CO2 levels, but how would this happen? Any help for my newbie self would be appreciated! Thanks!


G
__________________
Walker of the world's wierd wall.

www.taghillcards.com
Grendel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2003, 01:10 PM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

The only way to increase the CO2 levels are to add more CO2. Are you using a diffuser of any kind? What kind of filter are you using?
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2003, 04:47 PM   #3
Grendel
Planted Member
 
Grendel's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 183
Default

I use an Aquaclear mini filter. I have my CO2 coming through an airstone, with the bubbles caught by a plastic cap over it - one big bubble slips out from the cap and gets sucked up the filter intake /very/ irregularly. I might get three bubbles in 10 seconds, or one every two or three or five minutes.

The DIY yeast recipe I use calls for a pinch of baking soda also, but I'm not sure what this does to the whole. Will adding a second bottle of yeast mix with a T connector increase CO2 levels, or will it just prolong the lifespan of the production?

Thanks.


G
__________________
Walker of the world's wierd wall.

www.taghillcards.com
Grendel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2003, 01:25 AM   #4
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

The baking soda makes the mixture more basic. The yeast work best in a basic solution. Adding another bottle will give you more CO2 output. Also if you take your filter and cut the lip off of the outflow it will reduce surface agitation which will help keep your CO2 in solution. One thing you might want to do is get one of the Hagen diffuser/bubble counters and add it to your tank. I have one in my 10 gallon and it works like a champ. Here's a link to the Hagen product. http://petsolutions.com/cgi-bin/cgii...075.450000&l=6
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copper levels in CSM+B? Laith Fertilizers and Water Parameters 2 09-17-2004 07:15 PM
does frozen foods up the phosphate levels? abc Fertilizers and Water Parameters 7 06-14-2004 05:39 AM
Ideal Fe levels ///ACS330Ci Fertilizers and Water Parameters 9 03-29-2004 04:42 PM
Fertilizer in my tap water? High Nitrate Levels. bklock General Planted Tank Discussion 3 02-18-2004 03:26 AM
Target nitrate and phospate levels ken6217 General Planted Tank Discussion 6 01-05-2004 04:15 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012