hearty little schooling fish...
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish

Old 01-20-2009, 01:34 AM   #1
9am53
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)

hearty little schooling fish...

Hi, this is a total newb question although I am not really a total newb anymore...

I have been trying to stock my 29 gallon tank with harlequin ras. for a few weeks now, and every time I buy some half of them die....I am introducing them to the tank properly, and am keeping the pH constant, temp is constant, tank is clean and healthy, but they don't seem to like my tank, and I am sick of all the deaths, and all the $$. I have kept cardinal tetras with plenty of success, but I find them not active enough.

I would like a small, colourful, and active schooling fish to stock my tank with...any suggestions?
Fluval PEEEEMP #9
Fluval 205
2xAC30 + AC MINI (it's Hagen; close enough!)
EHEIM 2215
CO2 stuff c/o REX

9am53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2009, 01:45 AM   #2
imeridian
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (47/100%)
Send a message via AIM to imeridian

You may want to look into Glowlight Tetras, they're readily available and from my experience rather hardy. That was my experience with Harlequin Rasboras too though.
Old 01-20-2009, 01:47 AM   #3
fshfanatic
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (24/100%)

I love Rummynose but they are a little larger.
Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

fshfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 01:47 AM   #4
jphan
Planted Tank Obsessed

harlequins pretty hardy in my experience they went through a lot of changes when i switched my tank into planted and they went though it fine. I think you just bought some bad stock at the LFS
jphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 03:11 AM   #5
Karackle