Sand over Eco-Complete - bad idea?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2004, 03:21 AM   #1
YourPalCM
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading, Pennsylvania
Posts: 47
Default

Sand over Eco-Complete - bad idea?


I am going to be setting up a 46g tank in a few weeks and was going to use 2" of Eco-Complete below 1-1/2" of Pool Filter Sand. I mentioned this to my LFS, and they recommended against it, saying that I will have problems with poor gas exchange. They said that without a heating cable to force circulation through the substrate, that the substrate will become anoxic and form hydrogen sulfide which will kill the plants.

The strongly recommended just using 100% Eco-Complete.

Any comments? Agree? Disagree?
YourPalCM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2004, 03:31 AM   #2
WfxXx
Planted Tank Guru
 
WfxXx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (125/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 3,037
Send a message via ICQ to WfxXx
Default

My question would be.. why in the world would you want to cover EC with pool sand? EC is great all by it's self.. I would just use sand if that be the case.. so I would have to agree with your LFS
__________________
Craig

Last edited by WfxXx; 06-03-2004 at 06:37 AM..
WfxXx is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2004, 03:36 PM   #3
malkore
Planted Tank Guru
 
malkore's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,165
Default

I agree with the LFS. Eco complete is the shiznit...why ruin it with pool filter sand?
If you like the look of white sand, then don't get the eco complete,and use all sand, and root tabs to make up for sand not containing any nutrients.
__________________
Malkore
Filstar XP2 PIMP #3
Visit my aquarium pages - see specs on my tanks, and photos of how they've evolved
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2004, 04:12 PM   #4
John P.
Wannabe Guru
 
John P.'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
Posts: 1,321
Default

Sand will end up under the Eco after a while b/c of settling.
John P. is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eco complete address.......... duck Substrate 7 10-15-2004 10:49 PM
Eco Complete or Flourite Mothi Substrate 20 04-26-2004 06:07 AM
Vacummin Eco Complete lokobreed Substrate 12 04-15-2004 01:47 PM
interesting competition idea - the 2ft planted tank nornicle General Planted Tank Discussion 12 03-25-2004 10:28 PM
Eco- Complete Questions lokobreed Substrate 3 03-24-2004 07:30 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012