Got a 40 gallon breeder
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2004, 08:39 PM   #1
jcgd
Wannabe Guru
 
jcgd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,985
Send a message via MSN to jcgd
Default

Got a 40 gallon breeder


I picked up a 40 gallon breeder from my LFS the other day. They were clearing out their old tanks and they were selling all the stuff. I got the tank, a heater and a glass top for $60 plus a AC300 for around the same. The whole set up cost Around $130 Canadian.

Anyways. For the substrate I'm gonna use playsand. The AC300 is the filter and I may add a AC150 for extra water movement if I don't feel it is enough.

My question is this. In my current 20H whenever I do a water change I have to add baking soda to raise the kh to about 5 degrees. Out of the tap it is very low. Too low for co2 injection.

What I was wonder is... if I have coral in the filter will the ph only rise to a certain amount or will it rise until the coral is totally dissolved? Would coral in the filter be enough to buffer the water so I could change it straight from the tap?

I would add baking soda but it would be a huge pain on a 40 gallon.

Thanks, Justin
jcgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-01-2004, 08:44 PM   #2
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

I use a little bit of Crushed coral as a buffer.. not much.. just a tablespoon... works pretty well....
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 09:11 PM   #3
jcgd
Wannabe Guru
 
jcgd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,985
Send a message via MSN to jcgd
Default

So... I wont need to add any buffer at all? And the ph wont keep going up? And what about at water change time. Say the kh is 5 degrees and I change half the water. Wont the ph fall because I diluted the kh to 2.5 degrees?
jcgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 09:22 PM   #4
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

yes.. the Ph will fall.. and climb back up
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 09:40 PM   #5
jcgd
Wannabe Guru
 
jcgd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,985
Send a message via MSN to jcgd
Default

Will this change be great enough to hurt the plants and especially the fish?

Also, will the ph constantly rise until I do a water change again?
jcgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12 gallon or 10 gallon? pufferfreak Planted Nano Tanks 8 08-19-2004 10:10 PM
Gareths 90 Gallon Tank Journal (Setup March 13, 2004) > 5 GDominy Tank Journals 86 07-16-2004 02:31 PM
**Updated w/Pics** Big Project tonight... GDominy General Planted Tank Discussion 27 07-09-2004 01:09 PM
20 Gallon long setup ????'s Guttboy General Planted Tank Discussion 4 09-07-2003 06:34 PM
pic's of my 30 gallon breeder. curt Tank Journals 4 03-29-2003 04:14 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012