Biocube 8
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 12-31-2008, 04:16 AM   #1
westwood08
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Biocube 8

I recently got an 8 gallon biocube. I want to (or rather I have attempted to) set it up as a planted tank. I'm new to the hobby (both of aquabotany and fishkeeping)

For the tank, I've kept the equipment it came with (lights, filter, pump, etc.) Here's a link to the tank - http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...m?pcatid=18538

I'm using Seachem products in the tank: Prime, Stability, and Flourish

My substrate is a combination of Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...53891&keepsr=0
and black gravel.

I have a heater set to 75 degrees.

As for the plants I have in there currently: Anubius Nana, Bacopa Carolina, Hygrophila 'Kompakt', and a couple small Amazon Sword plants. The Anubius has been tied to a piece of driftwood (I soaked the wood for a little over a week before putting it in the tank to get rid of most of the tannic acid!)

Here's my tank (day two)

It's not much right now.

So, first... anything I can do to ensure sucess? I will be adding my two ADF and a few ghost shrimp once the tank has cycled. I am also thinking about getting an otocinclus to help with any algae that might accumulate.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comments?
westwood08 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-31-2008, 04:34 AM   #2
NyteBlade
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (42/100%)

The bio cubes are really nice all in one setups. My friend was thinking about getting one for a shrimp farm. Anyways, I digress...

Here's a few bits of tidbits to help you get started.