Idea as a solenoid
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2008, 08:18 PM   #1
iantan05
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default

Idea as a solenoid


i have a pressurized system on my 15 gallon now but will switch it our for diy when i set up my 30 gallon. i wonder if i could hook up my diy to a powerhead as a venturi diffusion and use the powerhead as a solenoid. i will probably use it with a timer with the lights.
thanks
__________________
Planted Aquariums
iantan05 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2008, 09:38 PM   #2
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (163/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 14,872
Default

Sure you can do that. Best is to let the powerhead suck the bubbles into the inlet, and have them just escape to the surface while the ph is off. That way the pump doesn't get airlocked while it is off.

A real solenoid is worth it though... saves CO2, and turning off the powerhead at night reduces overall circulation in your tank.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 01:06 AM   #3
iantan05
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default

i know a real solenoid would work best. but i don't think my parents would get me another set of presurrized co2. the powerhead i have has a venturi style build on so that there isnt any airlock that may damage the motor.
__________________
Planted Aquariums
iantan05 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 02:14 PM   #4
bpimm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (29/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Washougal, Washington
Posts: 134
Default

You don't need another complete C02 setup. Just a Tee and another needle valve for the second tank.
bpimm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2008, 07:39 PM   #5
iantan05
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default

the tanks aren't beside each other... and i would have to run an airline across the whole house... Beside i don't even have co2 tubing. do you think my co2 refill store have em?
__________________
Planted Aquariums
iantan05 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
co2, diy, pressurized

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012