how to install computer fans to strip lights: wiring issues
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2004, 05:07 PM   #1
abc
Planted Member
 
abc's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 296
Default

how to install computer fans to strip lights: wiring issues


Well I combed the forum, and found that some people have installed 80mm computer fans (ball-bearing types for the low noise) to their AH supply retro-fitted strip lights. But all the posts I read did not explain HOW they did it.

I just bought the ahsupply retrofit kit. I'm done with the installation but before I screw in the reflectors, I want to finish the wiring on the fans. But how do you do it? I'm assuming you have to take off the 4-point nub/connector on the 80mm fan and somehow connect the right wires with the plug wires (or is the ballast somehow involved in the process) or should I wire the fans to their own separate plug altogether?

Any advice on this issue would help! Thanks in advance! abc
abc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2004, 05:38 PM   #2
Rolo
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 1,717
Default

I can't help much, but I do know one thing. The fan is not connected in any way to your lighting. You need a seperate AC->DC converter, or called a "all wart." They are the same things used to charge cell phones.

Someonelse can pick up here and give all the specifics: watts, amps, volts...
Rolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 07:27 PM   #3
unirdna
Planted Tank Guru
 
unirdna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,290
Default

ABC, take a look at a DIY thread I posted a few days ago http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=7774. Maybe it's not exactly what you're looking for, but it may help. My guess is that it would be much easier (and cheaper), for you to simply wire a fan to a 12v power supply. As easy as hooking up a stereo.

Ted
__________________
Ted

ADA 90p - Set up April 2007 - Journal
46g - Terminated March 2007 - Journal
unirdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 07:59 PM   #4
WfxXx
Planted Tank Guru
 
WfxXx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (125/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 3,037
Send a message via ICQ to WfxXx
Default

You may have to get yourself a cheap computer powersupply from staples, bestbuy, circuit city, or any one of your favorite neighborhood computer parts service super stores near you..

Try newegg.com
__________________
Craig
WfxXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 01:39 AM   #5
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

Just a 12 volt wall adapter. The power requirements should be on the fan too actually.
I think the power supply of a computer would be a bit more bulky than what you're hoping to use, and more expensive too.

--cich
__________________
Plants are gone, but my 33gal and I are back after a long hiatus.
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 01:48 AM   #6
unirdna
Planted Tank Guru
 
unirdna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,290
Default

...right Cich. That's what I used....just an old AC/DC adapter for my answering machine.
__________________
Ted

ADA 90p - Set up April 2007 - Journal
46g - Terminated March 2007 - Journal
unirdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 03:11 AM   #7
abc
Planted Member
 
abc's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 296
Default found a 115V computer fan at radio shack

Thanks for all the suggestions. I went to radio shack and got a 115V computer fan that has two AC wires. It plugs right in my current wire set up.

I'M DONE!!!! WHEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This whole thing was driving me bananas. I let it run for 1 hour before calling it a night but the fan/multiple holes combo seems to work. I now have 190 watts total for my 75g tank (just over 2.5 WPG!!!!)

I'll let it run for the day and check the water parameters to see how the extra lighting changes how fast the plants use nitrates, etc. Hopefully, my algae problems will go away with the plants eating up the nutrients. I have pressurized CO2, so it's now a matter balancing the NO3, phosphates and CO2 levels to get rid of the algae.... I hope

1 more step and I can enjoy my tank. abc
abc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 06:57 AM   #8
cich
Wannabe Guru
 
cich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Send a message via MSN to cich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unirdna
...right Cich. That's what I used....just an old AC/DC adapter for my answering machine.
Totally... those fans (most) pretty low power-consumers, so you can use pretty much anything. If you want to compare power needs to the output of the adapter, when using 12v, 1 amp is 12 watts if you need to convert.

--cich\
__________________
Plants are gone, but my 33gal and I are back after a long hiatus.
cich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring strip lights sailblue5 Lighting 2 06-05-2004 12:47 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012