Beginner needs help with plant selection on 4 gallon finnex
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks

Old 11-14-2008, 03:44 AM   #1
merk1_99
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)

Beginner needs help with plant selection on 4 gallon finnex

Hi I am a beginner to the freshwater planted world. I need help choosing plants for a 4 gallon finnex gallon tank. The tank comes with the stock 13 watt light. The tank will contain a single betta. I would like to add another fish but realize that probably is an impossibility. I am confused whether the 13 watt light makes the tank a low light tank or a medium light tank. Since wpg is useless on a smaller tank. I am guessing I will make a DIY CO2 system at some point. The substrate will be eco-complete. Help me choose some plants for the fore, mid, and background. Also can someone point me to good online vendors. The local LFS's do not have a good stock of plants or knowlegable staff.

TIA
merk1_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-14-2008, 02:32 PM   #2
merk1_99
Algae Grower

Ok. I have formulated a plant list. I need help weeding out the ones that will not do well with the stock 13 watt pc light. It is obvious in a 4 gallon tank I do not need all of the species. For right now I am thinking 3 different species for the back, 3-4 mid, 2-3 front. Or is that many species to much?

Foreground:
Anubias nana
Lilaeopsis novae-zelandiae--micro sword
Nymphoides aquatica--banana plant
Eleocharis acicularis--dwarf hairgrass

Mid:
Ceratopteris thalictroides--water sprite
Rotala macranda--rotala magenta
Ludwigia repens--ludwigia broad

Background:
Egeria densa--anacharis
Hygrophila difformis--wisteria
Myriophyllum pinnatum--myrio green
Myriophyllum heterophyllum--myrio red
Echinodorus rubin--red rubin
Cabomba caroliniana--cabomba