my old lights
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum

Old 10-31-2008, 12:17 AM   #1
dcc0011
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

my old lights

Ok. I'm a total noob to the planted tank seen. I need a little advice on lighting. I have some old GE fixtures with 15 watt aquerium bulbs in them. Do I need new fixtures to upscale my light? Or could I put some t5 bulbs in those old fixtures and brighten things up a little.

My spelling stinks, I know
dcc0011 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-31-2008, 12:28 AM   #2
moogoo
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
Send a message via AIM to moogoo

You will need to buy bulbs that will fit into the fixture. As far as wattage, you should not exceed the wattage the fixture is built for because doing so would create a fire hazard.
Old 10-31-2008, 12:29 AM   #3
epicfish
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)

You will need new fixtures.
epicfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2008, 01:11 AM   #4
PROLINKer
Algae Grower

I suggest you buy new ones because I think your old fixture are not really designed for high wattage bulbs.
PROLINKer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2008, 01:13 AM   #5
dcc0011
Algae Grower