Plants losing leaves, help?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion

Old 10-10-2008, 07:23 PM   #1
SugaPwum
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

Plants losing leaves, help?

Hi, I need help, I'm kinda new at this. I have a few questions. I have a 14 gallon planted tank & a couple of my plants keep losing their leaves. My wisteria & my anacharis look like sticks with a few leaves on the tops.

My wisterias look real bad right now because of hurricane Gustav, they lost alot of leaves & theres like only leaves on the tops & at the bottom there are new baby plants growing. I just got my anacharis Tues & it had all its leaves & today it has hardly any. What am I doing wrong? am I missing something? or is it just what the plant does?

My Plants: I have 1 java fern tied to drifwood, 1 sprite, 1 banana plant (used to have 2, but one died & the one I have left lost its banana roots, but it anchored itself into the substrate), 1 anacharis, 1 red ludwigia, 1 lil group of cabombas, 4 wisterias, 1 anubias (either nana or berteri), & 1 radican sword (I know its kinda big for my tank, but I keep it trimmed).
My Fish: 3 glowlight tetras, 2 platies, & 1 chinese algae eater (trying to get some otos to replace him).

I have eco-complete plant substrate. I try to keep the temperature around 78 or so. Once a week I add leaf zone liquid fertilizer & flourish excel (should I add excel more often?)... & once a month I add tab fertilizers. I do weekly 40% water changes & I change the filter pads once a month, sometimes sooner if its real dirty. I also clean the filter itself once a month.

My water paremeters are... NitrAte: 20 [safe range], NitrIte: 0, Hardness (GH): 75, Alkalinity (KH): 120, PH: 8.4 or maybe a lil less (its hard to tell with test strips), & Ammonia: 0 & my tank is usually clean/clear.