Marko's High-light Eclipse III Journal: Update- 11/9/08; R. Vietnam trim. - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2008, 01:25 PM   #31
workn4frags
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 58
Default

Very nice set up.
workn4frags is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-29-2008, 07:56 PM   #32
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

thanks. it still needs a scape though.
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 08:17 PM   #33
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

ok here is an update:
the R. vietnam is going nuts. it grew at least an inch in 3 days. mystery plant "a" grew 4 side shoots, 4! and mystery plant be has grow a little bit. the R. mini is still barely growing. cyano is in patches on the substrate, but still not totally invasive. besides, the tank is still new, so the cyano may go away on its own as the plant mass increases.
i was hoping to plant the glosso today, but its not gonna happen. there was some confusion in the transaction and it was probably sent to somebody else (not sure if that was the case, though, i havent gotten a pm back yet). no big deal though. i will probably do it in a week or so. and next weekend i will bleach some lileaposis from my 20L and put that in there (hope the bleaching doesnt kill it) when i go to redo my 20L to higher tech and new scape (check out my journal for that too).
here are pics of the tank as is:


__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 09:01 PM   #34
bsmith
Planted Tank Guru
 
bsmith's Avatar
 
PTrader: (278/99%)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St.Louis, MO
Posts: 9,059
Default

Cyano is caused by low/fluctuating co2, bad water flow and low kno3. Are you dosing any macros (NPK)?
bsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 10:37 PM   #35
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

low or flux CO2? for cyano? that could be it. im using DIY and if your read my last update, youll see just how flux it was. it shouldnt stay that way though, so then the cyano will go away?

i have good flow. i just added a powerhead with 30gph (can go up to 50 though).
and i dosed macros sunday and today. i plan on dosing only once a week though, if i can get away with it. if not then 2 times.
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 01:37 AM   #36
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

cyano is spreading. im going to redo my CO2 on wednesday, and start to dose ethyromicyn (maracyn). i will also bump up the flow a little bit. and dose again like i plan to. hopefully with better CO2, and higher flow, cyano wont be allowed to take hold, and the antibiotics should kill it pretty fast (though i will do a WC first and try to get as much out as i can anyway).

glosso came today. its just gonna float until wednesday. it should survive like that until then.
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 10:37 PM   #37
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

i went to the tank and saw this:

scraped the glass to be welcomed by this:


i need help.
im dosing nitrates, increased flow, moved the powerhead, and dosed maracyn.

i cleaned out the cyano, and now it looks like this:

i hope i can get it to stay like that.
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 11:17 PM   #38
CL
C-A-T-S
 
CL's Avatar
 
PTrader: (79/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 9,701
Default

Ouch! Talk about an algae ambush!
__________________
CL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 01:12 AM   #39
bsmith
Planted Tank Guru
 
bsmith's Avatar
 
PTrader: (278/99%)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St.Louis, MO
Posts: 9,059
Default

How much are you dosing for nitrates?
bsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 01:17 AM   #40
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

im dosing flourish line macros once a week. seachems reccomended dose.
micros are every other week.

my nitrates are 5 or higher always, though.
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 01:45 AM   #41
bsmith
Planted Tank Guru
 
bsmith's Avatar
 
PTrader: (278/99%)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St.Louis, MO
Posts: 9,059
Default

That is pretty low but adequite. I was running my higher light tank lean on KN03 and had a little cyano. Upped my dosing to get a ~15ppm KNO3 reading and all was good. If I were you I would see if someone could send you some potassium nitrate and start dosing that. Better yet save yourself the money of buying all the seachem stuff and get the whole NPK pack from Greenleaf or Rex.

Quote:
Originally Posted by @marko@ View Post
im dosing flourish line macros once a week. seachems reccomended dose.
micros are every other week.

my nitrates are 5 or higher always, though.
bsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 10:43 AM   #42
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

i have dry fertz. i intend to use them on my 20L with the automatic dosing.
i will also eventually use them on the eclipse, but i still have the seachem line flourish fertz, no need to throw them out.

ok, so ill dose a bit more nitrates and see how that goes (cant dose more often, im just not there to do so).
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 02:31 PM   #43
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

i made a gas seperator for the eclipse 3 to keep yeast out of my diffuser. here is a pic with my new camera:
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 01:28 AM   #44
connordude27
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
connordude27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (36/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 864
Default

subscribed thats a nice tank
connordude27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 01:38 AM   #45
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

wow, thanks!
if only i can get the stems to grow straight. but the vietnam is growing at least, and actually could do with a trim.
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012