Flourite + Sand
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2003, 02:14 AM   #1
fraggle
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to fraggle
Default

I was just thinking, if I have 2" flourite, then put 1.5 inches of sand over that, isn't the sand going to mix in with the flourite?
fraggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2003, 01:10 PM   #2
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Yes it definately will...
What I did was to work the sand into the flourite with my fingers so that it fills the gaps between flourite chips. Then when you have it pretty much "filled" add another layer of sand over it.
When you plant in it you will stir up some flourite also but if you want it covered just add scoops of sand after planting and you are all set.
I have been in and out of my substrate getting the final scaping done to my likes and I am going to wait a few days to be sure that I am sure and then I will add a final sand layer and let it grow.

I really like the sand look and I am happy I decided to try it... I was worried about it being to "compact" a substrate for fine roots but after uprooting a few plants for friends and also for rescaping the tank the roots obviously have no trouble whatsoever ! They almost root TOO good... LOL
Even the Cardamine lyrata which has very fine roots has done very well in sand...
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 01:20 PM   #3
fraggle
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to fraggle
Default

So you are really mixing the sand and flourite, not layering it?
fraggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 01:39 PM   #4
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

Yeah, it amazes me how well plants root in a seemingly compacted substrate! The most impressive roots I'd ever seen were in a tank with exlusively kitty litter! That stuff is like a granulated fine powder. Makes a mess, but the plants LOVE it.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 03:40 PM   #5
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

It is impossible to keep it from mixing...
once you put in all your Flourite ...only add a little sand to it and work it into flourite and repeat until you have no air bubbles in substrate.
If you do not work the sand into flourite first you will get " sinkholes " later down the road as it settles.
Then just add however much more sand you want for looks over the settled layer you just created.
I add sand here and there and have also pythoned some right out the door to my lawn in places that I had to much...
Also
The bottom feeders love the sand...my cory will vaccum this stuff like no tomorrow...he sucks the sand in and blows it back out through his gills ... very kool to watch.
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 02:55 PM   #6
PhishNeslo
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to PhishNeslo
Default

what kind of sand do you use? silica play sand? corse filter sand for swimming pools?
__________________
90g planted tank & 55 g planted tank/sump, with opposing 12 hr photoperiods.

Filter: DIY rapid sand filter w/ 5 liters Eheim effisubstrat and 50 pounds of corse filter sand, 600 gph pump. dump returns.

Substrate: Gravel and laterite substrates, capped with Flourite and home depot sand.

Lighting: 6.7 watts/gallon on top
(2x175) of 10,000k MH, (2x128) ODNO GE P&A
3 watts/gal on bottom
(4x40) triton t-8 flourscent

Fertilization: Seachem liquid fertilization (iron and comprehensive), Tetra initial sticks

CO2: DIY 14 liter yeast (seven bottles connected to a gang valve)
400 gph reactor (gravel vacuum tube filled with bio-bale and a powerhead on top)
PhishNeslo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 06:40 PM   #7
tyler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 32
Send a message via ICQ to tyler Send a message via MSN to tyler
Default

don't forget to rinse either. a pillow case works very well for this.
tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2003, 02:53 AM   #8
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

I got the sand from home depot and it works awesome... no regrets here...
The best part other then the looks is that it changed no parameters whatsoever in my water column which was one of my concerns.
I would use this stuff again in a heart beat...

Bucks Sand
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mix flourite with sand? doublefake Substrate 4 07-26-2004 07:56 PM
sand in a 55gal flourite? cookingnerd607 Substrate 1 06-21-2004 01:45 AM
flourite and sand hooha Substrate 4 03-30-2004 07:07 PM
Sand and flourite, or laterite. Sebastian Substrate 8 12-18-2003 08:56 PM
Flourite vs Onyx sand SaM dA MaN Substrate 4 09-06-2003 07:34 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012