Do I need more bottom feeders in my tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2008, 04:22 PM   #1
beevee
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 11
Default

Do I need more bottom feeders in my tank


I currently have a 55 gallon planted tank. It has 12 rummy nose tetras, 12 cardinal tetras, 5 rams, 2 dwarf plecos, and 2 clown loaches. Do I have enough bottom feeders in the tank currently? Should I add cory's to the tank? If so how many? Also I plan on adding some discus to the tank. What would be a good number to add without over populating my tank? I appreciate the help!!!
beevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2008, 04:27 PM   #2
ZooTycoonMaster
Planted Tank Guru
 
ZooTycoonMaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Clara, California
Posts: 3,742
Default

The Clown Loaches are overstocking your tank already. They grow up to a foot long and 2 of them should have at least a 100 gallon tank.

And I'd say the Plecos are enough since they poop alot, but you can add some Cories if you want to.
__________________
Eheim Classic 2213
Eheim Pimp #341

ZooTycoonMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 04:30 PM   #3
Green Leaf Aquariums
Sponsor
 
Green Leaf Aquariums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SWAMP
Posts: 4,699
Default

I dont think you should add anymore fish then what you have. I definitely would not add any Discus to that size tank. I think 5 rams is a little much in that size tank, but thats just how I am with rams. They need lots of space when they decide to pair up.
Green Leaf Aquariums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 05:17 PM   #4
seAdams
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 400
Default

Agree with the others. Your tank is stocked to the limit even without the Clown Loaches.

You'll need to either upgrade to a huge tank, or find them another home, and t's very difficult to find new homes for giant sized fish like these.
seAdams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 07:25 PM   #5
BottomFeeder
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
BottomFeeder's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 316
Default

As the others have said you are overstocked. I would get rid of the two clown loaches and a couple of the rams.
BottomFeeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 07:45 PM   #6
fshfanatic
Planted Tank Guru
 
fshfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZooTycoonMaster View Post
The Clown Loaches are overstocking your tank already. They grow up to a foot long and 2 of them should have at least a 100 gallon tank.
True they can, in 20+ some odd years. They grow very slowly.
__________________
Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

fshfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 07:59 PM   #7
ZooTycoonMaster
Planted Tank Guru
 
ZooTycoonMaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (31/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Clara, California
Posts: 3,742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fshfanatic View Post
True they can, in 20+ some odd years. They grow very slowly.
Yes, but Koi grow slow as well. Could they be housed in a 55?
__________________
Eheim Classic 2213
Eheim Pimp #341

ZooTycoonMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 08:09 PM   #8
lauraleellbp
Fresh Fish Freak
 
lauraleellbp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (70/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 24,154
Default

My LFS had a 12" clown loach that they said was only 3 years old. Grew up in a 210gal. My clowns were 6" at 8 years, and grew up in a 46gal. After hearing and seeing the clown loach at my LFS, I feel like my own clowns may have been stunted.

I agree you probably have too many rams for a 55gal, but it also depends somewhat on your gender ratios. If only 1 or 2 are males and the rest females, you MAY be ok as long as there are lots of hiding places and lines of sight are broken with plants and hardscape.

IMO a 90gal tank is the smallest size appropriate for a small school of discus. Discus need to be kept in groups, and a school would not have enough swimming room in a 55gal.
__________________
Tampa Bay Aquarium Society - Next meeting Monday, August 11, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!

lauraleellbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 11:31 PM   #9
beevee
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 11
Default

I appreciate all of the responses. I am disappointed that I can not add Discus to the tank. Oh well you live and learn.
beevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012